Match Details: Yeovil Town v Mansfield Town
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Mansfield Town

Match Details: 11/08/2018
Yeovil Town 2-2 Mansfield Town
EFL League Two

Yeovil Goals: Diallang Jaiyesimi (5), Yoann Arquin (17)

Yeovil Line-Up: 3. Carl Dickinson, 5. Bevis Mugabi, 6. Omar Sowunmi, 12. Nathan Baxter, 13. Francois Zoko, 14. Diallang Jaiyesimi, 18. Yoann Arquin, 20. Sessi D'Almeida, 21. Wes McDonald, 27. Shaun Donnellan, 30. Alefe Santos
Subs: 4. Gary Warren, 8. Reece Cole, 9. Alex Fisher, 15. Gabriel Rogers, 17. Alex Pattison, 19. Korrey Henry, 24. Steve Phillips,

Substitutes Used: Gary Warren for Shaun Donnellan (46 mins), Alex Pattison for Alefe Santos (56 mins), Korrey Henry for Diallang Jaiyesimi (74 mins)

Bookings: Alefe Santos (Foul, 55)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town drew their first home match of the 2018-19 season at Huish Park this afternoon, as all four goals in a 2-2 scoreline were concentrated into the opening period. The Glovers saw Norwich City loanee Diallang Jaiyesimi latch onto a bit of Route One for the opener, but former loanee Craig Davies quickly equalised. Then the home side restored their lead as former Stags player Yoann Arquin scored his first for the club, before Matt Preston restored the balance. Both teams needed to organise their defences better than they had in the opening 26 minutes, leading to a much quieter second half, although Omar Sowunmi's second half clearance off his own line ensured his side got a point out of the game, to leave Yeovil in 20th place after two games.

The Glovers went into the match making two enforced changes, due to the double red card obtained last weekend at Bury. Tom James dropped out for Omar Sowunmi who was returning from his own suspension, and that meant that Bevis Mugabi moved to the right-back slot. Jordan Green commenced a three match suspension, with Wes McDonald getting his debut for the club, having joined from Birmingham City during pre-season. In the opposition line-up, Otis Khan and Craig Davies lined up against their former club.

The game got off to a flying start after just five minutes. A long ball over the top from Carl Dickinson caught Mansfield's back line flat-footed, as Diallang Jaiyesimi raced onto the pass. His first touch saw him control the ball, whilst his second saw him roll a shot past Conrad Logan for a 1-0 lead.

Frustratingly they only held that lead for four minutes. Alefe Santos tried to clear the ball from inside his own half, but it got blocked off by a Mansfield player, with the ball ricocheting into the path of former loanee Craig Davies. With him in space, he was able to fire home past Nathan Baxter for an ultra-quick response, at 1-1 after just nine minutes.

Otis Khan, who was booed by many throughout the first period, shot into the side netting after he got into space, but it wasn't long before Yeovil got their noses back in front with the next major chance of the match. Omar Sowunmi fired a shot on goal, and when Conrad Logan only parried the attempt, Yoann Arquin was on hand to follow up the rebound on the far post and fire home from close range at 2-1.

So could Yeovil now hold onto the lead? They could have extended it further when Bevis Mugabi put through Diallang Jaiyesimi, with him behind the Mansfield back line. But as Logan came off his line, his attempt to lift the ball over the keeper also cleared the crossbar. And nine minutes later, the visitors instead drew level once again, as old boy Otis Khan's cross was headed home by Matt Preston for a 2-2 scoreline.

Mansfield finished the half as the stronger side, with Krystian Pearce shooting over the bar after a quickly taken free kick caught the defence napping. Then Tyler Walker shot wide from a Mal Benning pass, with Yeovil's defence and midfield sometimes not too sure whether to play the ball out of their own half, or whether to belt it into Row Z. With four goals though, there could be no complaints about the entertainment.

Half time saw Gary Warren replace Shaun Donnellan, with a thigh problem explained as the reason for his withdrawal. Sessi D'Almeida fired over the crossbar early on, before Alefe Santos was also replaced, with one erratic pass, and a fairly obvious yellow card perhaps contributing to the decision to bring Middlesbrough loanee Alex Pattison on for his debut. Yeovil again continued to be enterprising with Bevis Mugabi's pass to Diallang Jaiyesimi seeing him turn and shoot inside the box, but dragging it wide. There was then a double effort from Yoann Arquin, with his first shot saved by Logan, but with the second clearing the crossbar.

Mansfield did have their second half moments, and ultimately came the closest to grabbing the fifth goal of the game. Craig Davies had earlier forced Nathan Baxter into a strong low save from an Otis Khan cross, but Baxter had to be grateful to Omar Sowunmi minutes later, as Davies produced a header that had the keeper beaten, with Sowunmi's header off the line coming off the underside of the crossbar before coming back out again.

Yeovil managed to hang in there, and in fact had to play out the final minutes of the match with ten men, after they'd made all three substitutes. Francois Zoko was the victim of a foul from Hayden White, which earned the Stags player a booking. When Zoko tried to get back on to continue, he went down on the deck almost immediately, leading to him slowly limping off with what looked like jarred ligaments. As such, the final four minutes of injury time had to be played out with a little bit of caution - thankfully the closest Mansfield got was a Matt Preston header from an Otis Khan free kick that went wide of the target. It ended all square, giving Yeovil their first point of the 2018-19 season against a side strongly fancied for promotion this season, with the Glovers ending the day in 20th place in the ultra-early League table.

Link: 2018-19 Latest League Two Table.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 2 Mansfield Town 2.

Scorers: Diallang Jaiyesimi (1-0, 5 mins), Craig Davies (1-1, 9 mins), Yoann Arquin (2-1, 17 mins), Matt Preston (2-2, 26 mins)

Yeovil Town:
12. Nathan Baxter
5. Bevis Mugabi, 6. Omar Sowunmi, 27. Shaun Donnellan, 3. Carl Dickinson
21. Wes McDonald, 20. Sessi D'Almeida, 30. Alefe Santos, 18. Yoann Arquin
14. Diallang Jaiyesimi, 13. Francois Zoko (Capt)

24. Steve Phillips, 4. Gary Warren (46 mins for Shaun Donnellan), 8. Reece Cole 9. Alex Fisher 15. Gabriel Rogers, 17. Alex Pattison (56 mins for Alefe Santos), 19. Korrey Henry (74 mins for Diallang Jaiyesimi)

Mansfield Town:
1 Conrad Logan
2 Hayden White 4 Matt Preston 5 Krystian Pearce
22 Christopher Hamilton 7 Alexander MacDonald 6 Neal Bishop 10 Otis Khan 3 Malvind Benning
19 Tyler Walker 9 Craig Davies

12 Robert Olejnik 8 Jacob Mellis (87 mins for Alex MacDonald) 11 Will Atkinson 16 Callum Butcher (83 mins for Craig Davies) 17 Ryan Sweeney 27 Lewis Gibbens 29 Jordan Graham

Yeovil Bookings: Alefe Santos (foul, 55 mins)

Mansfield Town Bookings: Malvind Benning (foul, 45 mins), Neal Bishop (foul, 77 mins), Alex MacDonald (handball, 83 mins), Hayden White (foul, 87 mins)

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 48%; Shots: 11; Shots On Target: 4; Corners: 1; Fouls: 12.

Mansfield Town Match Statistics: Possession: 52%; Shots: 14; Shots On Target: 5; Corners: 2; Fouls: 16.

Referee: Neil Hair (Huntingdonshire). Assistants: Kevin Morris (Herefordshire) and Ronald Ganfield (Somerset). Fourth Official: Christopher Wade (Hampshire).

Attendance: 2,795 (with 315 Mansfield Town supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape