Match Details: Bury v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Bury v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 04/08/2018
Bury 1-0 Yeovil Town
EFL League Two

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 3. Carl Dickinson, 5. Bevis Mugabi, 11. Jordan Green, 12. Nathan Baxter, 13. Francois Zoko, 14. Diallang Jaiyesimi, 18. Yoann Arquin, 20. Sessi D'Almeida, 23. Tom James, 27. Shaun Donnellan, 30. Alefe Santos
Subs: 4. Gary Warren, 8. Reece Cole, 9. Alex Fisher, 15. Gabriel Rogers, 19. Korrey Henry, 21. Wes McDonald, 24. Steve Phillips,

Substitutes Used: Gary Warren for Diallang Jaiyesimi (55 mins), Reece Cole for Francois Zoko (70 mins), Alex Fisher for Yoann Arquin (82 mins)

Bookings: Tom James (Foul, 44), ,

Match Report:

Yeovil Town went down to defeat on the opening day of the season, as their poor discipline from last year was carried into the new campaign. It took an 89th minute goal from Bury substitute Gold Omotayo to win the match, as he finished from inside the box, but the end to that game came via the Glovers shooting themselves in the foot on two separate occasions. Defender Tom James was sent off for two bookable offences early in the second half, and 13 minutes later Jordan Green was given a straight red for a studs-up challenge that left Yeovil down to nine men. That led to a fairly even encounter turning into one-way traffic, and Omotayo just about gave the Shakers all three points in the 89th minute as the home team won 1-0.

The Glovers went into the match with five players gaining their debuts for the start of the 2018-19 season. The big surprise in those five was Nathan Baxter, who hadn't played in any of the pre-season matches, being thrown into the deep end after Stuart Nelson picked up a training ground calf injury that ruled him out entirely. The other forced change from many of the pre-season friendlies resulted from Rhys Browne picking up a hamstring injury in last week's match at Corby Town, meaning he'll have a month on the sidelines - to the benefit of Yoann Arquin who started in that position.

The opening stages of the match were relatively quiet, with Norwich City loanee Diallang Jaiyesimi firing a couple of yards wide, before Nicky Adams committed an awful slice over the bar at the other end. Although Yeovil were bright in the opening ten minutes, gradually the home side began to asset their authority in possession. The Shakers couldn't really threaten the goal too much though. Their best effort on goal came when a Chris Stokes effort took a deflection, with Nathan Baxter saving well and a linesman's flag saving any follow up by Chris Dagnall.

The second half opened with Will Aimsin firing over the bar, but Yeovil managed their best spell of the match after the break, with Francois Zoko's deflected shot forcing home keeper Joe Murphy into his first major save, and that was followed by Yoann Arquin cutting in on his right foot from the wing, before his attempt also deflected, travelling over the crossbar.

But last season, Yeovil Town had the most red cards in the Football League, and although many of the personnel have changed over the summer, that pattern of play hasn't. Tom James had already been booked just before half time, and he went in on a sliding tackle on Danny Mayor ten minutes into the second half. It would have been hard to imagine any other outcome - a second yellow and with the visitors down to ten men. That saw a forced readjustment, with Gary Warren introduced to restore the back four, and Diallang Jaiyesimi withdrawn, to form a 4-4-1.

Bury upped the tempo, and the temperature of the game rose after Alefe Santos lost possession in the middle of the park allowing Neil Danns a chance to race through. When Shaun Donnellan tackled inside the box, Danns went down, leading to a heated argument between the pair and other nearby players over whether Danns had taken a dive. That temperature was still in the game when Jordan Green went in for a rash studs up tackle on Danns, and after a crowd of players surrounded referee Dean Whitestone, he broke clear and produced a straight red card for Green, leaving Yeovil down to nine men, with twenty-plus minutes still left to play.

That turned the game into Attackers vs Defenders, and left Yeovil substituting Francois Zoko for Reece Cole, to leave themselves nominally with Yoann Arquin as the front man in a 4-3-1 formation - but with both of their original strikers off the field. Bury introduced Gold Omotayo for his debut in the closing stages as the remaining nine Yeovil players dug in deep, and the visitors only held out. But in the 89th minute, a Neil Danns ball into the box saw Will Aimson still forward from a set piece, and he knocked the ball into the path of Omotayo who finished inside the box for a 1-0 score that in the final 20 minutes had been on the cards.

Inevitably being down to nine men meant that judging the squad as a whole on a single game becomes almost impossible. Prior to those red cards, the game had been fairly balanced, albeit with the Shakers having much more of possession. But as per last season, keeping eleven men on the field of play has been a thorn in Yeovil Town's side in a repetitive fashion, and so they cannot use that as an excuse for the final score that eventually materialised.

Link: 2018-19 Latest League Two Table.

Final Score: Bury 1 Yeovil Town 0.

Scorers: Gold Omotayo (89 mins, 1-0)

1 Joe Murphy
2 Tom Miller 4 Will Aimson 5 Adam Thompson 6 Eoghan O'Connell 3 Chris Stokes
31 Neil Danns 12 Callum Styles 10 Danny Mayor
11 Chris Dagnall 7 Nicholas Adams

8 Stephen Dawson 13 Mathew Hudson 15 Byron Moore (65 mins for Tom Miller) 18 Dominic Telford (72 mins for Chris Stokes) 21 Callum McFadzean 27 Gold Omotayo (77 mins for Chris Dagnall) 33 Harry Bunn

Yeovil Town:
12. Nathan Baxter
23. Tom James, 5. Bevis Mugabi, 27. Shaun Donnellan, 3. Carl Dickinson
11. Jordan Green, 20. Sessi D'Almeida, 30. Alefe Santos, 18. Yoann Arquin
14. Diallang Jaiyesimi, 13. Francois Zoko (Capt)

24. Steve Phillips, 4. Gary Warren (55 mins for Diallang Jaiyesimi) 8. Reece Cole (70 mins for Francois Zoko) 9. Alex Fisher (82 mins for Yoann Arquin) 15. Gabriel Rogers, 19. Korrey Henry, 21. Wes McDonald

Bury Bookings: Tom Miller (foul, 49 mins), Neil Danns (foul, 90 mins)

Yeovil Bookings: Tom James (foul, 44 mins), Red Card: Tom James (second bookable offence, 54 mins), Jordan Green (serious foul play, 67 mins)

Bury Match Statistics: Possession: 62%; Shots: 10; Shots On Target: 4; Corners: 11; Fouls: 11.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 38%; Shots: 6; Shots On Target: 2; Corners: 5; Fouls: 10.

Referee: Dean Whitestone (Northamptonshire). Assistants: Matthew Parry (Merseyside) and Paul Newhouse (County Durham). Fourth Official: Mark Cunliffe (Merseyside).

Attendance: 3,151 (with 227 Yeovil Town supporters)
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape