Match Details: Accrington Stanley v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Accrington Stanley v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 17/04/2018
Accrington Stanley 2-0 Yeovil Town
EFL League Two

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 6. Lewis Wing, 7. Otis Khan, 9. Rhys Browne, 11. Ryan Dickson, 12. Jonny Maddison, 15. Jordan Green, 17. Omar Sowunmi, 18. Alex Fisher, 20. Oscar Gobern, 23. Tom James, 27. Shaun Donnellan,
Subs: 4. Jared Bird, 5. Bevis Mugabi, 8. Connor Smith, 19. Marcus Barnes, 21. Ryan Seager, 24. Steve Phillips, 30. Alefe Santos

Substitutes Used: Marcus Barnes for Otis Khan (50 mins), Ryan Seager for Jordan Green (67 mins), Jared Bird for Oscar Gobern (71 mins)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town went down by a 2-0 scoreline as Accrington Stanley gained promotion to League One for the first time in their reformed club's history. The Lancashire side were the dominant force for the majority of the game at the Crown Ground, but needed two goals in three minutes to give them the win that saw them promoted. Top scorer Billy Kee headed in at the near post on 26 minutes, and then doubled the lead after Jonny Maddison spilled a shot, allowing him a chance to pounce on the rebound. Although Yeovil had their moments, Stanley had a goal disallowed and could easily have run away with the match during the second period. Yeovil stay in 18th, with four games still left to play.

The Glovers lined up naming a near-identical teamsheet to the one that had lost against Wycombe Wanderers on Saturday. The same starting eleven was preserved, with the only alteration being on the bench, where Corey Whelan was left out in favour of an appearance for Liverpool Under-23s, with Connor Smith replacing him. Accrington chose an unchanged eighteen, knowing they needed just a win to secure promotion.

Yeovil started well, in what was ultimately to be their best spell of the game. An Alex Fisher header went over the bar from a Ryan Dickson cross, whilst Rhys Browne was put in on goal, with his shot at the near post being parried away by Aaron Chapman for a corner. The visitors were setting themselves up with two banks of four, trying to snuff out Stanley, and then attempting to hit them on the break. Early on at least, that appeared to be working.

However, having remained patient, Accrington began to create a bit of room, with James Dunne firing wide after Billy Kee put him through. Then came the opening goal - Sean McConville's corner to the near post found Kee rising quickly, and he headed home off the underside of the crossbar for a 1-0 lead for Accrington and an advantage that would give them promotion.

A party atmosphere at the Crown Ground was turned up a notch further just two mintues later, as Accrington fashioned a 2-0 lead. A Sean McConville free kick was recycled into the path of Jordan Clark. His shot saw Jonny Maddison fail to hold onto the ball, and that allowed Billy Kee the chance to react and fire home the rebound for his 25th goal of the season.

Having started reasonably well, those two goals seemed to knock Yeovil off their stride, and it was the home side that finished the half more strongly, with the nippy Kayden Jackson putting a 20 yard shot over the crossbar. Alex Fisher did manage to create one effort for Yeovil that went well wide just before half time, but the early conviction had been lost.

Five minutes into the half, Marcus Barnes was introduced for the Glovers, as Otis Khan left the field, allowing Jordan Green an opportunity to switch to his favoured wide position, as Barnes went up front. That was probably provoked due to the home side starting well on the front foot, as Kayden Jackson first sprinted through on goal, only to be denied by an alert Jonny Maddison, followed by another that went just wide.

The change didn't make much difference, as Accrington took an absolute stranglehold on the game, pinning Yeovil inside their own half. Billy Kee's superb strike went just wide, whilst a quick run from Kayden Jackson got in behind the defence and clean on goal, only to see his low shot saved. Sean McConville forced Maddison to parry out for a corner, from which Mark Hughes volleyed over the bar. Then there was a stroke of luck as McConville volleyed off the underside of the crossbar. That shot looked close to going into the net on its own accord, but when James Dunne hit the loose ball, a linesman's flag went up for offside.

The one way traffic continued as Sean McConville lobbed Jonny Maddison, forcing Ryan Dickson to clear off his own goal line. Maddison also had to palm a Billy Kee effort over the bar for a corner, and by this point, the only surprise was that it was still only 2-0. The back line had to dig deep to weather the storm, as Kee fired into the side netting, leading to cheers as the net rippled ... outside the posts.

Yeovil introduced Ryan Seager in the closing stages. Whether that was an influence, or whether Accrington were trying to slow play down to close the game out, that did at least provide a mini-lull that saw Seager's header saved, and Alex Fisher's effort from a Tom James cross go wide. But any hope of setting up a grandstand finish gradually faded, as Kee and McConvile had late efforts saved, and when only two minutes went up for the second half injury time, perhaps even the referee wanted the celebrations to start. A full time whistle, the inevitable pitch invasion and the home celebrations followed. For a club on a lower budget than Yeovil Town, reported as just 15,000 pounds a week, Stanley's rise to the top of the division can only be applauded - they were a class above on the night.

Link: 2017-18 Latest League Two Table.

Final Score: Accrington Stanley 2 Yeovil Town 0.

Scorers: Billy Kee (1-0, 26 mins), Billy Kee (2-0, 28 mins)

Accrington Stanley:
1 Aaron Chapman
26 Callum Johnson 3 Mark Hughes 2 Jimmy Dunne 4 Janoi Donacien
7 Jordan Clark 8 Scott Brown 28 Seamus Conneely (Capt) 11 Sean McConville
29 Billy Kee 10 Kayden Jackson

5 Ben Richards-Everton 6 Liam Nolan 9 Offrande Zanzala 12 Danny Williams 16 Jon Maxted 17 Erico Sousa 32 Harvey Rodgers (None used)

Yeovil Town:
12. Jonny Maddison
23. Tom James 27. Shaun Donnellan 17. Omar Sowunmi (Capt) 11. Ryan Dickson
9. Rhys Browne 6. Lewis Wing 20. Oscar Gobern 7. Otis Khan
18. Alex Fisher 15. Jordan Green

24. Steve Phillips 4. Jared Bird (71 mins for Oscar Gobern) 5. Bevis Mugabi 8. Connor Smith 19. Marcus Barnes (50 mins for Otis Khan) 21. Ryan Seager (67 mins for Jordan Green) 30. Alefe Santos

Accrington Stanley Bookings: Sean McConville (diving, 33 mins)

Yeovil Bookings: None.

Accrington Stanley Match Statistics: Possession: 58%; Shots: 23; Shots On Target: 8; Corners: 11; Fouls: 9.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 42%; Shots: 9; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 1; Fouls: 18.

Referee: Stephen Martin (Staffordshire). Assistants: Jonathan Hunt (Merseyside) and David Avent (Northamptonshire). Fourth Official: Robert Jones (Merseyside).

Attendance: 3,176 (with 93 Yeovil Town supporters)
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape