Match Details: Hartlepool United v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Hartlepool United v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 04/02/2017
Hartlepool United 1-1 Yeovil Town
EFL League Two

Yeovil Goals: Matthew Dolan (69)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Artur Krysiak, 2. Liam Shephard, 3. Nathan Smith, 4. Matthew Dolan, 6. Alex Lacey, 9. Tom Eaves, 11. Ryan Dickson, 13. Francois Zoko, 16. Matt Butcher, 28. Ben Whitfield, 31. Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro,
Subs: 5. Bevis Mugabi, 12. Jonny Maddison, 17. Omar Sowunmi, 19. Brandon Goodship, 24. Owain Jones, 26. Darren Ward, 32. Tom James

Substitutes Used: Darren Ward for Alex Lacey (32 mins), Omar Sowunmi for Tom Eaves (65 mins), Owain Jones for Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro (78 mins)

Bookings: Liam Shephard (Foul, 40)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town had to come from behind at Victoria Park, as they secured a 1-1 draw against Hartlepool United. The Glovers' third away draw in a row came after Padraig Amond had given the home side the lead as he headed home a 64th minute cross. Then turned up home town boy to spoil Hartlepool's plans of all three points. After Francois Zoko was tripped inside the box, up stepped Matt Dolan - born in the town, and a former Pools player - to convert the spot kick, and give a share of the points. The draw keeps Yeovil in 15th place, still 9 points off the play-off spots, but 11 points away from the bottom two clubs.

The Glovers went into the match making one change to their starting line-up, and that was enforced. Kevin Dawson began his two match suspension and that allowed Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro the chance to make his debut, as he came into the front line on the right-hand side, with Ben Whitfield dropping into midfield to cover Dawson's slot. In the opposition line-up, Louis Rooney, who had used Huish Park facilities to sign for Hartlepool on Tuesday night, started the match, whilst September nemesis Nathan Thomas was on the bench.

The home side started far more effectively, applying most of the pressure in the opening 20 minutes of the first half. Louis Rooney had an early effort saved by Artur Krysiak, whilst at the other end, all Yeovil had to show was a Ben Whitfield effort that went well wide. Much of Hartlepool's efforts were wide of the target, with Padraig Amond firing just over the bar. Eventually Yeovil did have a mini-spell of their own as an Alex Lacey header at the near post flicked wide from a Matt Dolan corner before a Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro attempt went comfortably over.

Lewis Alessandra and Sean Kavanagh cleared the crossbar and then the game went into a scrappy lull, with no-one really getting on the ball to any great intent. Yeovil's efforts weren't helped by Alex Lacey colliding with a Hartlepool player, then having to leave the field with a knee injury, replaced by Darren Ward. Yet although the home side were looking a bit sharper, even they seemed to have run out of steam - the final 20 minutes of the half saw nothing of note from either side apart from a Matt Butcher effort that went over the bar just before the half time whistle.

The second period opened up with Hartlepool still dominating, with Louis Rooney forcing Artur Krysiak into a terrific close range save as he palmed the ball over the bar. The Glovers were then indebted to sharp thinking by Darren Ward after his side lost possession in midfield, allowing Rooney the opportunity to break. He rounded Krysiak, but rather than move towards the ball, Ward chose to cover the goal line and the angled shot was blocked by the centre-back.

Just past the hour mark though, Hartlepool got the lead their play probably deserved. Andrew Nelson picked the ball up wide, and crossed the ball into the centre, with Padraig Amond's header planted back across the goal and past Artur Krysiak for a 1-0 advantage to the home side. Yeovil immediately sent on Omar Sowunmi for Tom Eaves, as a means of rescuing the game.

Five minutes later, Yeovil Town drew level. Francois Zoko had occasionally looked frustrated in the wide position, but like the Wycombe Wanderers away fixture, his quick feet inside the box were to prove crucial. He turned inside the box, and Andrew Nelson clearly tripped him as he launched forward for a cast iron penalty. With Kevin Dawson not part of play today, Matt Dolan - born in the town, and a former Hartlepool player - stepped up to take the spot kick and confidently equalised, keeping his celebrations down to a minimum.

In the closing stages, Yeovil looked the better side, and could have had a go at taking all three points. A Matt Dolan free kick from 25 yards out was pushed over the crossbar by Adam Bartlett, and that was probably the closest they came to a winner. But the home side disappeared from the game somewhat after the equaliser, meaning that the point that was ultimately gained was a comfortable one, keeping the Glovers in 15th place, and again in a solid midtable position.

Link: 2016-17 Latest League Two Table.

Final Score: Hartlepool United 1 Yeovil Town 1.

Scorers: Padraig Amond (1-0, 64 mins), Matt Dolan (1-1, 69 mins, penalty)

Hartlepool United:
13. Adam Bartlett
33. Liam Donnelly 6. Matthew Bates 26. Scott Harrison 39. Sean Kavanagh
8. Brad Walker 4. Nicky Featherstone
22. Andrew Nelson 9. Padraig Amond 15. Lewis Alessandra
28. Louis Rooney

7. Nathan Thomas (71 mins for Lewis Alessandra) 11. Rhys Oates 18. Lewis Hawkins 23. Connor Smith 29. James Martin 35. Kenton Richardson 42. Joe Fryer

Yeovil Town:
1. Artur Krysiak
2. Liam Shephard 6. Alex Lacey 3. Nathan Smith 11. Ryan Dickson (Capt)
28. Ben Whitfield 16. Matt Butcher 4. Matt Dolan
31. Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro 9. Tom Eaves 13. Francois Zoko

Substitutes: 12. Jonny Maddison 5. Bevis Mugabi 17. Omar Sowunmi (65 mins for Tom Eaves) 19. Brandon Goodship 26. Darren Ward (32 mins for Alex Lacey) 32. Tom James 24. Owain Jones (78 mins for Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro)

Hartlepool United Bookings: Andrew Nelson (foul, 89 mins)

Yeovil Bookings: Liam Shephard (foul, 40 mins)

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 45%; Shots: 11; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 3; Fouls: 9.

Hartlepool United Match Statistics: Possession: 55%; Shots: 11; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 6; Fouls: 14.

Referee: Michael Salisbury (Lancashire). Assistants: Christopher Ward (South Yorkshire) and Barry Gordon (County Durham). Fourth Official: Matthew Dicicco (North Riding).

Attendance: 3,410 (with 97 Yeovil supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape