Match Details: Wycombe Wanderers v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Wycombe Wanderers v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 14/01/2017
Wycombe Wanderers 1-1 Yeovil Town
EFL League Two

Yeovil Goals: Kevin Dawson (20)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Artur Krysiak, 2. Liam Shephard, 3. Nathan Smith, 4. Matthew Dolan, 6. Alex Lacey, 7. Kevin Dawson, 11. Ryan Dickson, 13. Francois Zoko, 16. Matt Butcher, 17. Omar Sowunmi, 28. Ben Whitfield,
Subs: 5. Bevis Mugabi, 9. Tom Eaves, 12. Jonny Maddison, 19. Brandon Goodship, 20. Joe Lea, 22. Ollie Bassett, 32. Tom James

Substitutes Used: Tom Eaves for Omar Sowunmi (82 mins), Brandon Goodship for Ben Whitfield (87 mins), Bevis Mugabi for Francois Zoko (90 mins)

Bookings: Nathan Smith (Foul, 61)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town picked up a point in a physical encounter against top five side Wycombe Wanderers this afternoon at Adams Park. The 1-1 draw saw goals come from the penalty spot with two in six minutes, with Kevin Dawson giving the away side the lead after Francois Zoko was felled inside the box. But then Joe Jacobson responded, with Alex Lacey having fouled inside the box. The Chairboys had the majority of pressure in the second period, but with the match turning into a scrappy and sometimes over-physical encounter, a point each was the end result, leaving the Glovers still in 16th place in the table.

The Glovers went into the match making three changes to the side that beat Reading Under-21s in the EFL Trophy. Artur Krysiak was restored as goalkeeper with Jonny Maddison dropping to the bench. Alex Lawless had a hip injury and dropped out of the squad entirely. Likewise Otis Khan's ankle injury meant that Omar Sowunmi got his first start since November 2015 as a front line striker. On the bench new signings Brandon Goodship and Tom James got to view their new teammates.

A fairly strong start from the Glovers saw a Francois Zoko cross into the box find Kevin Dawson, but his shot towards goal was brilliantly blocked by Aaron Pierre before it could reach goal. Zoko in particular was causing Wycombe's back line plenty of problems during the early action. It took a while for Wycombe to really get a foothold, with a Luke O'Nien header that went wide representing one of their few chances. But then former Glovers trialist Dominic Gape, recently signed on a permanent deal from Southampton, woke up the home crowd with a superb 25 yard strike that Artur Krysiak just stood and watched. Thankfully it crashed off the underside of the bar and out to safety.

Zoko's runs into the Wycombe box finally reached fruition 20 minutes into the match, when his cut into the box was met by a trip by Sido Jombati that the home team appeared to have few complaints about. Up stepped Kevin Dawson to give the Glovers the lead as he sent Jamal Blackman the wrong way. 1-0 up.

Unfortunately, that lead didn't stay in tact for too long. Wycombe wide man Paris Cowan-Hall cut in from the left, and angled the ball across the box, but as he released the ball, Alex Lacey slid in with a needless challenge that gave Wycombe a fairly obvious penalty of their own. After a lengthy delay for an injury to Kevin Dawson, Joe Jacobson also sent Artur Krysiak the wrong way, for a 1-1 scoreline.

As the home side had their tails up, Artur Krysiak was forced into producing a superb save from a narrow angled Luke O'Nien, before having had another attempt that took a deflection off his own player before going into the arms of the Yeovil keeper. At the other end, Omar Sowunmi was having a decent half, with his glancing header going wide, as the half end with matters even - probably just about right on the balance of the game.

Ben Whitfield started the second half by making a glorious right-flank run, with other team-mates creating space for him as they peeled off and took markers with them. Unfortunately for him his final shot was straight at Jamal Blackman. Whitfield spurned a far easier chance to score when Omar Sowunmi intelligently cut the ball back to him when he could have shot, but despite Blackman being caught out of position, the AFC Bournemouth man skied the ball over the bar.

Then came the game's major contentious incident. When Nathan Smith challenged for a set piece with Wycombe keeper Jamal Blackman, it looked to be a run-of-the-mill foul, but the goalkeeper reacted by appearing to shove Smith in the face. He landed on the deck, leading to a lengthy melee with Omar Sowunmi being grabbed around the neck and dragged backwards by Paris Cowan-Hall. Somehow out of all of this, referee Robert Jones chose to book both Smith and Blackman but to not issue anything of a different colour. Overall, the official had an ulta-lenient game, but on occasions like that, it comes across as a weakness, rather than a strength.

The rhythm of the second period was not helped by a lengthy injury to Anthony Stewart, sustained when he jumped for an aerial ball, then flipped over a Yeovil player's shoulder. Omar Sowunmi had also run his race, with a leg injury causing him to hobble about as the main target man - eventually with him barely able to walk, he was replaced by Tom Eaves.

That seemed to effectively see Yeovil shrink into a 4-5-1 formation, even if it possibly wasn't intentional, with Eaves left isolated on his own. Eight minutes of added time saw Wycombe build up a head of steam, and the willingness of Yeovil to settle for a point was emphasised when the excellent Francois Zoko was replaced by Bevis Mugabi - a striker for a defender just as the clock strikes 90 gives a clear signal, particularly when you are the away side. Yeovil managed to ride that time out without too much stress, giving them a point which in isolation is a good one, given Wycombe's strong recent form. However, it gives Yeovil six matches without a League Two win, and embedded in midtable in 16th place - nine from the play-offs and eight from the relegation spots.

Link: 2016-17 Latest League Two Table.

Final Score: Wycombe Wanderers 1 Yeovil Town 1.

Scorers: Kevin Dawson (0-1, 20 mins, pen), Joe Jacobson (1-1, 26 mins, pen)

Wycombe Wanderers:
27. Jamal Blackman
2. Sido Jombati 5. Anthony Stewart 6. Aaron Pierre 3. Joe Jacobson
17. Luke O'Nien 25. Dominic Gape 11. Sam Wood
12. Paris Cowan-Hall 20. Adebayo Akinfenwa 19. Myles Weston

7. Garry Thompson (81 mins for Sam Wood) 8. Marcus Bean 9. Paul Hayes (74 mins for Myles Weston) 13. Barry Richardson 21. Max Muller 22. Nick Freeman 23. Will De Havilland (66 mins for Anthony Stewart)

Yeovil Town:
1. Artur Krysiak
2. Liam Shephard 6. Alex Lacey 3. Nathan Smith 11. Ryan Dickson (Capt)
7. Kevin Dawson 16. Matt Butcher 4. Matt Dolan
13. Francois Zoko 17. Omar Sowunmi 28. Ben Whitfield

Substitutes: 12. Jonny Maddison 5. Bevis Mugabi (90 mins for Francois Zoko) 9. Tom Eaves (82 mins for Omar Sowunmi) 19. Brandon Goodship (87 mins for Ben Whitfield) 20. Joe Lea 22. Ollie Bassett 32. Tom James.

Wycombe Wanderers Bookings: Jamal Blackman (off the ball incident, 62 mins)

Yeovil Bookings: Nathan Smith (foul, 61 mins)

Wycombe Wanderers Match Statistics: Possession: 55%; Shots: 18; Shots On Target: 7; Corners: 5; Fouls: 11.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 45%; Shots: 7; Shots On Target: 2; Corners: 2; Fouls: 11.

Referee: Robert Jones (Merseyside). Assistants: George Warren (London) and Adrian Waters (London). Fourth Official: Andrew Aylott (Bedfordshire).

Attendance: 3,493 (with 239 Yeovil supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape