Match Details: Notts County v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Notts County v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 17/10/2015
Notts County 2-0 Yeovil Town
Skybet League Two

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Artur Krysiak, 3. Nathan Smith, 4. Matthew Dolan, 5. Stephen Arthurworrey, 6. Jakub Sokolík, 9. Ryan Bird, 11. Ryan Dickson, 20. Wes Fogden, 23. Harry Cornick, 24. Connor Roberts, 30. Josh Sheehan
Subs: 8. Marc Laird, 10. Shaun Jeffers, 12. Chris Weale, 19. Iffy Allen, 21. Alex Lacey, 28. Ollie Bassett,

Substitutes Used: Shaun Jeffers for Ryan Bird (62 mins), Marc Laird for Matthew Dolan (80 mins), Iffy Allen for Ryan Dickson (80 mins)

Bookings: Stephen Arthurworrey (Foul, 50)

Match Report:

Two second half goals in six minutes condemned Yeovil Town to a deserved defeat against Notts County this afternoon at Meadow Lane. The home side hit the woodwork twice during a goalless first half, but gained their crucial advantage ten minutes after the break when Stanley Aborah's free kick took a deflection that looped the ball past Artur Krysiak. Then Izale McLeod beat the offside trap to score the Magpies second, in a game that lacked a spark from the Glovers in the final third that was ever likely to see them get back into the game.

The Glovers went into the match making two changes to their side, with Josh Sheehan returning after his international duty, whilst Jakub Sokolik's second half performance as a substitute last week was good enough to earn him a spot in the starting line-up. Out went Jake Howells who had returned to Luton, and Marc Laird, who dropped to the bench. Sheehan's role was to play as the most advanced midfielder of the five.

It was a sluggish start by the Glovers, who seemed to try to find their feet by standing off Notts County and giving them plenty of space to move the ball about, meaning the home side enjoyed plenty of early possession. In fairness to Yeovil, they looked compact and well organised, but it took a while before they got the ball near the opposition's final third. An early long range shot saw Izale McLeod attempt to deflect the ball towards goal, but he missed his attempt and it went wide of the target.

Gradually, Yeovil began to get their foot on the ball. After Mike Edwards had picked up a booking for a poor foul on Ryan Dickson, a Josh Sheehan free kick curled wide. That was followed by Matt Dolan drilling the ball on the volley just wide of the target - a real thunderbolt of a shot.

But at the other end, County were the superior side, with Stanley Aborah showing some dazzling midfield showmanship to beat his man, before chipping the ball into the path of Izale McLeod - the striker knocked the ball past Artur Krysiak, but it bounced onto the post and sat there before Nathan Smith hooked it to safety. Liam Noble then produced a shot seemed to deceive Artur Krysiak who could only parry the ball away to safety. The Magpies also struck the outside of the goalframe when Adam Campbell tried to beat Krysiak at his near post but found the angle defeating him.

In theory, having a goalless scoreline at the break suited Yeovil more than their hosts, even if they had to do much more defending than their opponents. But all that mattered to nothing when ten minutes into the second half Wes Fogden conceded a clumsy foul on the edge of the box. Up stepped Stanley Aborah, who had won the free kick, and his set piece took a deflection, looping past Artur Krysiak to give the Magpies the lead.

Six minutes later, and Notts County doubled their lead as Yeovil's now high line defence got themselves a bit out of shape. Stephen Arthurworrey appeared to be too deep when Alan Smith's pass down the middle found Izale McLeod, who beat the offside trap, ran through, and confidently smashed the ball past Artur Krysiak.

Shaun Jeffers was introduced for Ryan Bird, immediately after the second goal, but as Yeovil wobbled the home side threatened to increase their lead via the same route as the one they'd just scored, with Artur Krysiak's quick movement off his line denying the Magpies. Gradually though, Yeovil composed themselves and Connor Roberts was unlucky not to pull a goal back when he saw two shots in quick succession blocked by defenders close to the line.

Yeovil eventually fizzled out somewhat, with only a couple of half chances coming their way in the closing stages, despite the introduction of Marc Laird and Iffy Allen as late substitutes. Far too often the final ball went across the face of the goal, rather than finding someone in the box. County were far more creative and clinical on the day, with the final score an accurate reflection of the gap between the two teams.

Link: 2015-16 Latest League Two Table.

Final Score: Notts County 2 Yeovil Town 0.

Scorers: Stanley Aborah (55 mins, 1-0), Izale McLeod (61 mins, 2-0)

Notts County:
1. Roy Carroll
18. Elliott Hewitt 35. Mike Edwards 44. Alan Sheehan 31. Thierry Audel
33. Stanley Aborah 4. Alan Smith 16. Liam Noble
24. Adam Campbell 30. Jonathan Stead 39. Izale McLeod

20. Jack Barmby 2. Mawouna Kodjo Amevor 11. Genaro Snijders (84 mins for Adam Campbell) 13. Scott Loach 15. Curtis Thompson 26. Graham Burke (84 mins for Izale McLeod) 28. Gill Swerts

Yeovil Town:
1. Artur Krysiak
24. Connor Roberts 6. Jakub Sokolik 5. Stephen Arthurworrey 3. Nathan Smith
23. Harry Cornick 20. Wes Fogden 4. Matt Dolan 11. Ryan Dickson (Captain)
30. Josh Sheehan
9. Ryan Bird

12. Chris Weale 8. Marc Laird (80 mins for Matt Dolan) 10. Shaun Jeffers (62 mins for Ryan Bird) 19. Iffy Allen (80 mins for Ryan Dickson) 21. Alex Lacey 28. Ollie Bassett

Notts County Bookings: Mike Edwards (21 mins, foul)

Yeovil Bookings: Stephen Arthurworrey (50 mins, foul)

Notts County Match Statistics: Possession: 62%; Shots: 19; Shots On Target: 6; Corners: 4; Fouls: 12.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 38%; Shots: 4; Shots On Target: 1; Corners: 3; Fouls: 14.

Referee: Brendan Malone (Wiltshire). Assistants: Thomas Bramall (Sheffield) and John Busby (Oxfordshire). Fourth Official: Joe Hull (Cheshire).

Attendance: 4,030 (with 210 Yeovil Town supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape