Match Details: Yeovil Town v Portsmouth
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Portsmouth

Match Details: 02/09/2014
Yeovil Town 1-3 Portsmouth
LDV Vans Trophy 1st Round

Yeovil Goals: Nathan Ralph (84)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Chris Weale, 2. Brendan Moloney, 3. Nathan Smith, 5. Aaron Martin, 10. AJ Leitch-Smith, 11. Sam Foley, 13. Kieffer Moore, 14. Sam Hoskins, 15. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi, 16. Nathan Ralph, 20. Ben Nugent,
Subs: 7. Kevin Dawson, 9. James Hayter, 12. Artur Krysiak, 18. Jack Price, 21. Calvin Brooks

Substitutes Used: James Hayter for Kieffer Moore (46 mins), Jack Price for Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi (56 mins), Kevin Dawson for Sam Hoskins (71 mins)

Bookings: Aaron Martin (Foul, 66)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town crashed out of the Football League Trophy tonight after they were easily beaten by League Two side Portsmouth at Huish Park. The First Round clash saw the Glovers concede three second half goals in 19 minutes that allowed Jed Wallace to grab a brace, with Craig Westcarr adding a third that effectively sealed the win for Pompey. Nathan Ralph's late goal put a mild smile on supporters faces but that was as good as it got in a frustrating night.

The pre-match build-up was a bit of a circus, with manager Gary Johnson not present at the ground until 7.30p.m. and no-one at the club able to explain his whereabouts. His assistants Terry Skiverton and Darren Way effectively took charge until Johnson's arrival at the ground and even during the first period the Glovers boss took a low key role, preferring to stay in his dugout and allow Skivo to direct proceedings. Despite an early flurry of end to end chances he didn't miss too much, in a first half that gradually fizzled out into nothingness.

The second period saw far more chances created, although that wasn't necessarily a good thing, as it was the League Two side that created the most. Jed Wallace, who Pompey recruited in from non-league side Farnborough, opened the scoring ten minutes into the half when he exchanged passes with Craig Westcarr in a neat one-two that split the Glovers defence in two and allowed Wallace to fire home for the lead.

The same player was involved with 18 minutes remaining, and after Yeovil had reorganised their fairly inert striking options, finishing the game with James Hayter and AJ Leitch-Smith up front. At the other end Jed Wallace was showing the Glovers strikers how it should be done, losing his marker, and getting in behind the back four to finish off Alex Wynter's pass to double Pompey's lead.

Any hope Yeovil may have had of getting back into the game were lost two mintues later when Miles Storey delivered another ball in behind the Yeovil defence, and Craig Westcarr's impressive control and lob lifted the ball over Chris Weale, who had been badly exposed by the players in front of him.

The Glovers did have one small bright moment during a rather rotten evening, when Nathan Ralph popped up with only his second goal for the club, and his first since returning from his 16 month injury lay-off. He created himself room before firing home off the underside of the crossbar with six minutes remaining, but there was too little of that sort of fire power on display from the home side on the night, meaning that was a mere consolation.

Pompey deservedly won their way through to the next round, and Yeovil disappeared out of the competition almost as quickly as Gary Johnson went down the tunnel on the final whistle, leaving his assistant Terry Skiverton to answer the difficult questions that lay both on and off the field tonight.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 1 Portsmouth 3.

Scorers: Jed Wallace (0-1, 55 mins), Jed Wallace (0-2, 72 mins), Craig Westcarr (0-3, 74 mins), Nathan Ralph (1-3, 84 mins)

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
1. Chris Weale
2. Brendan Moloney 5. Aaron Martin 20. Ben Nugent 3. Nathan Smith
10. AJ Leitch-Smith 15. Seth Nana Twumasi 11. Sam Foley 16. Nathan Ralph
13. Kieffer Moore 14. Sam Hoskins

12. Artur Krysiak 7. Kevin Dawson (71 mins for Sam Hoskins) 9. James Hayter (46 mins for Kieffer Moore) 21. Calvin Brooks 18. Jack Price (56 mins for Seth Nana Twumasi).

1. Paul Jones
15. Alex Wynter 13. Johannes Ertl 16. Paul Robinson 34. Dan Butler
21. James Dunne 24. Nick Awford 25. Nigel Atangana
8. Jed Wallace 14. Miles Storey 20. Craig Westcarr

2. Adam Webster 7. Andy Barcham (67 mins for Nick Awford) 22. Michael Poke 23. Patrick Agyemang (79 mins for James Dunne) 33. Ben Close (43 mins for Nigel Atangana)

Yeovil Bookings: Aaron Martin (foul, 66 mins)

Portsmouth Bookings: James Dunne (foul, 11 mins), Nick Awford (foul, 35 mins), Alex Wynter (foul, 39 mins).

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 51%; Shots: 5; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 10; Fouls: 10.

Portsmouth Match Statistics: Possession: 49%; Shots: 6; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 3; Fouls: 14.

Referee: Kevin Johnson (Somerset). Assistant Referees: Adam Nunn (Wiltshire) and Neil Radford (Worcestershire). Fourth Official: Justin Amey (Dorset).

Attendance: 2,787 (including 692 Portsmouth supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape