Match Details: Milton Keynes Dons v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Milton Keynes Dons v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 03/05/2015
Milton Keynes Dons 5-1 Yeovil Town
Skybet League One

Yeovil Goals: Own Goal (56)

Yeovil Line-Up: 3. Nathan Smith, 4. Joe Edwards, 8. James Berrett, 9. James Hayter, 12. Artur Krysiak, 15. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi, 17. Joel Grant, 25. Gozie Ugwu, 26. Stephen Arthurworrey, 30. Josh Sheehan, 32. Liam Shephard
Subs: 1. Chris Weale, 5. Fergus Bell, 10. AJ Leitch-Smith, 13. Kieffer Moore,

Substitutes Used: Kieffer Moore for Gozie Ugwu (46 mins), AJ Leitch-Smith for James Hayter (65 mins), Fergus Bell for Joel Grant (84 mins)

Bookings: Stephen Arthurworrey (Foul, 33)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town completed their 2014-15 season by being well beaten against Milton Keynes Dons at Stadium MK. The home side, who gained promotion to the Championship by virtue of the win, were 4-0 up at half time, leading to a surreal atmosphere in the second half where Dons fans seemed more interested in their radios and phones to check the scoreline of the Colchester United vs Preston North End match. An early strike from Carl Baker outside the box was added to by Dean Lewington's free kick and a close range finish from Darren Potter, before Will Grigg's header made it four. A rather more balanced second period saw the Glovers get a goal back when Jordan Spence put into his own net, but Dean Lewington got his second of the game to put the match beyond any lingering doubt.

The Glovers put out a rather threadbare line-up for the match, with a number of injuries and unavailable players meaning that they could only name four substitutes. Notably injuries to Byron Webster, Stephen Kingsley and Sam Foley meant that they were not involved, meaning that Seth Nana Twumasi, Joel Grant and Joe Edwards had to come into the side, with the Glovers lining up in a slightly odd 3-5-2 formation that saw Grant playing as a right wing-back - certainly the first time he'd ever played that position in a Yeovil shirt.

Right from the very start, the home side were on top and they took the lead just seven minutes into the match when Samir Carruthers provided an inside pass through to Carl Baker, and although there were plenty of Yeovil players around him, none were close enough to close him down and stop him from firing home into the right-hand corner from outside the box to put his side 1-0 up.

Milton Keynes weren't scared of shooting from distance, and Carruthers had another shot saved from distance by Artur Krysiak, with the keeper having to also deal with a deflected Dean Lewington attempt followed by a Carl Baker free kick that curled around a defensive wall. But midway through the half, another free kick conceded on the edge of the box was to prove costly. Joe Edwards committed the foul, and Dean Lewington provided the punishment as their captain fired home from 25 yards out, bending it slightly around the wall.

Ten minutes from the break and it was 3-0, and again a set piece was the problem. Carl Baker's corner was headed back across goal by Dean Lewington who was beyond the back stick, and Darren Potter was able to provide a first time volley from ten yards out to smash the ball home. The lack of marking for both Lewington's and Potter's involvement in the goal will doubtless be scrutinised on the post-match DVD sessions, but there wasn't a lot of it going on.

Just four minutes later and alarm bells were ringing loud and clear. Dean Lewington's cross into the box went to the far post, and Will Grigg headed home. Yeovil's play during the half had been largely anonymous - a James Hayter effort did land in the back of the net from a James Berrett pass, but the linesman's flag had gone up long before he 'scored'. Meanwhile Nathan Smith had a shot cleared off the line from a corner, and Joel Grant put one over the bar. But defensively speaking - and this applied to the way the midfield protected that defence as well - they were falling well below expectations.

No surprise then that half time saw a substitution being made, as Kieffer Moore was introduced for Gozie Ugwu, and a formation change saw Yeovil switch to a 4-3-3, roughly mirroring MK Dons' line-up man-for-man, as Seth Nana Twumasi played as a left-back, and the trio of Moore, Joel Grant and James Hayter went up front, with Hayter playing the more central role. With the home side's minds perhaps elsewhere, Yeovil did briefly get themselves a foothold back into the game, as a Josh Sheehan cross was put into his own net by Jordan Spence, under pressure from James Hayter, who walked away without trying to claim the goal.

Despite being comfortable winners, the home side were much more tense during this half, with their crowd celebrating a Colchester United penalty down in Essex, and then going quieter than a librarians' convention when they realised that the U's had fluffed the spot kick against Preston North End. Another free kick move gave them another goal though, as Ben Reeves put in a ball that Dean Lewington - unsurprisingly their man of the match - headed home. But it was only in the final ten minutes that they began to relax and celebrate as new came on of a Colchester goal - the loudest cheer of the afternoon apart from the final whistle.

Yeovil were more than happy for the match to end - their fate sealed many weeks ago, and with them no reason to be on the pitch come the final whistle. Outplayed during the first half, the second half became an irrelevant spectacle, and Paul Sturrock's Friday morning surgery will become far more important in the scale of things to their futures than today's match will have been. However, if he was looking for any last minute clues of who he might keep for the 2015-16 season out on the pitch today, he won't have found too many positives. Thankfully, bar a County Cup Final, this wretched season is now over.

Link: 2014-15 Latest League One Table.

Final Score: Milton Keynes Dons 5 Yeovil Town 1.

Scorers: Carl Baker (1-0, 7 mins), Dean Lewington (2-0, 24 mins), Darren Potter (3-0, 35 mins), Will Grigg (4-0, 39 mins), Jordan Spence (4-1, 56 mins, own goal), Dean Lewington (5-1, 74 mins).

Milton Keynes Dons:
1. David Martin
12. Jordan Spence 5. Kyle McFadzean 6. Antony Kay 3. Dean Lewington
8. Darren Potter 22. Samir Carruthers 14. Dele Alli 38. Robert Hall
13. Carl Baker 11. Will Grigg

2. Lee Hodson (75 mins for Kyle McFadzean) 9. Dean Bowditch (69 mins for Will Grigg) 10. Ben Reeves (73 mins for Samir Carruthers) 16. Ian McLoughlin 17. Daniel Powell 28. Devante Cole 34. Lewis Baker

Yeovil Town:
12. Artur Krysiak
15. Seth Nana Twumasi 26. Stephen Arthurworrey 3. Nathan Smith
17. Joel Grant 4. Joe Edwards 8. James Berrett 30. Josh Sheehan 32. Liam Shephard
25. Gozie Ugwu 9. James Hayter

1. Chris Weale 5. Fergus Bell (84 mins for Joel Grant) 10. AJ Leitch-Smith (65 mins for James Hayter) 13. Kieffer Moore (46 mins for Gozie Ugwu)

Yeovil Bookings: Stephen Arthurworrey (foul, 33 mins)

Milton Keynes Dons Bookings: Darren Potter (foul, 45 mins)

Milton Keynes Dons Match Statistics: Possession: 48%; Shots: 18; Shots On Target: 8; Corners: 5; Fouls: 9.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 52%; Shots: 4; Shots On Target: 1; Corners: 2; Fouls: 12.

Referee: Scott Duncan (Northumberland). Assistant Referees: Dean Treleaven (West Sussex) and Timothy Wood (Gloucestershire). Fourth Official: Darren Sheldrake (Surrey).

Attendance: 16,965 (with 331 Yeovil supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape