Match Details: Notts County v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Notts County v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 22/11/2014
Notts County 1-2 Yeovil Town
Skybet League One

Yeovil Goals: Jordan Clarke (84), Jordan Clarke (88)

Yeovil Line-Up: 3. Nathan Smith, 4. Joe Edwards, 7. Kevin Dawson, 8. James Berrett, 10. AJ Leitch-Smith, 11. Sam Foley, 18. Jordan Clarke, 20. Ben Nugent, 25. Jordy Hiwula, 26. Stephen Arthurworrey, 30. Jed Steer
Subs: 9. James Hayter, 12. Artur Krysiak, 14. Sam Hoskins, 15. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi, 17. Joel Grant, 23. Simon Gillett,

Substitutes Used: Joel Grant for Jordy Hiwula (54 mins), James Hayter for AJ Leitch-Smith (54 mins), Simon Gillett for James Berrett (72 mins)

Bookings: Ben Nugent (Foul, 40), Joe Edwards (Foul, 41), Nathan Smith (Foul, 49), Stephen Arthurworrey (Ungentlemanly Conduct, 70)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town secured their first win in nine League One matches this afternoon, as they came from behind to beat promotion-chasing Notts County at Meadow Lane. Two late goals from Coventry City loanee Jordan Clarke saved the day as he headed home 84th and 88th minute crosses from Sam Foley and Nathan Smith respectively, to turn around a game that had threatened to slip away from the Glovers. Having been well on top during the match, and with County down to ten men after Gary Jones' foul on Nathan Smith, a defensive blunder had allowed Michael Petrasso a near walk-in goal midway through the second half, but Clarke's headers saved the day to lift the club off the foot of League One.

Manager Gary Johnson made one enforced change to his line-up, with an injury to Liam Davis sustained last week against Fleetwood Town last weekend meaning that he dropped out of the side, with Nathan Smith an obvious replacement. On the bench Joel Grant returned from international duty with Jamaica to take a seat on the bench, but otherwise things were largely unchanged.

The match got off to a rather slow start, with neither side managing too many chances along the way. Jordy Hiwula's header from a Sam Foley cross saw the Manchester City loanee stretching for the ball but unable to keep it down. Then AJ Leitch-Smith shot well over after the Magpies failed to clear their lines. Then Leitch-Smith cut in from the left flank only to see goalkeeper Roy Carroll parry the ball across his goal and a defender wisely hack the loose ball away for a corner.

Whilst Yeovil had created the majority of the chances up until that point, the pattern of the match, and its temperature was raised when a 29th minute foul by Gary Jones on Nathan Smith saw the left-back prone on the turf, and some angry reactions from his teammates. Given we were at Meadow Lane, it seemed more likely that referee Stuart Attwell would produce a fairly functionary yellow card, but instead he raised a straight red, with reports suggesting Jones had gone in two-footed. An eruption from the County dugouts and crowd suggested they saw different, and in the aftermath County assistant Greg Abbott was sent to the stands.

The Magpies reshuffled by making a substitution and adopting a 3-5-1 formation, in a heated atmosphere develop. Referee Stuart Attwell really didn't handle it at all well, swiftly dishing out yellow cards to Ben Nugent and Joe Edwards for fairly minor fouls that seemed to be a reaction to the furious home crowd, who booed every time Nathan Smith got near the ball - as if he could have been held responsible for being on the receiving end of Jones's tackle. The big fear was that Attwell was itching to even up the number of players on the pitch, and thus it was probably Yeovil who were more grateful for the half time whistle to try to take the heat off the game. More boos for Smith, and more boos for Attwell followed as they headed off the pitch.

There was more of the same after the break - Nathan Smith became the latest player to get booked - perhaps to the disappointment of Magpies fans who had been chanting for a red after a foul. An early double substitution during the second period saw James Hayter and Joel Grant replacing AJ Leitch-Smith and Jordy Hiwula, and gradually it looked more like a game of football was starting to break out.

That was, until Yeovil shot themselves in the foot with a defensive howler. Playing far too much tippy-tappy stuff along their eighteen yard line, Ben Nugent and Stephen Arthurworrey seemed to get their wires crossed with the latter blotting a previously perfect copybook with a woeful pass that let in Michael Petrasso with only Jed Steer to beat. A gift of a goal, and you could see the Glovers heads go down on the pitch for a brief period as if even they believed that was going to be it.

Except that it wasn't. Yeovil plugged away as third substitute Simon Gillett shot towards the far post, but beyond it - a chance that should have seen an equaliser. Then Kevin Dawson's attempt to slot in at the near post was thwarted by Roy Carroll. Finally, a Sam Foley corner on 84 minutes did the business, as Jordan Clarke's header was fumbled by the previously impressive Carroll, and squeezed over the line for the linesman to start waving his flag for the equalising goal.

Four minutes later, and what had looked like a defeat, became a victory. A left wing cross into the box from Nathan Smith found that man Jordan Clarke a second time, and his header sneaked in off the inside of the goalpost for an 88th minute winning goal. Notts County rallied, with five minutes of injury time becoming eight minutes after a lengthy injury slowed down proceedings, and with Yeovil looking occasionally nervous of the position they were in, on a couple of occasions they almost sneaked through, but some splendid last ditch tackling stopped the door being opened wide again. To say the least, a valuable win, and the circumstances in which it came will certainly need some dissecting, in a game that tested the emotions throughout.

Link: 2014-15 Latest League One Table.

Final Score: Notts County 1 Yeovil Town 2.

Scorers: Michael Petrasso (1-0, 63 mins), Jordan Clarke (1-1, 84 mins), Jordan Clarke (1-2, 88 mins)

Notts County:
1. Roy Carroll
15. Curtis Thompson 28. Mike Edwards 6. Haydn Hollis 3. Blair Adams
36. Mike Petrasso 13. Gary Jones 16. Liam Noble 32. Stephen McLaughlin
11. Garry Thompson 12. Jake Cassidy

2. Mustapha Dumbuya 8. Nicky Wroe 10. Ronan Murray (90 mins for Mike Edwards) 14. Taylor McKenzie (35 mins for Blair Adams) 23. Fabian Speiss 25. Drissa Traore 31. Shaun Harrad (75 mins for Jake Cassidy)

Yeovil Town (4-5-1):
30. Jed Steer
18. Jordan Clarke 20. Ben Nugent 26. Stephen Arthurworrey 3. Nathan Smith
7. Kevin Dawson 4. Joe Edwards 8. James Berrett 11. Sam Foley 10. AJ Leitch-Smith
25. Jordy Hiwula

12. Artur Krysiak 9. James Hayter (54 mins for AJ Leitch-Smith) 14. Sam Hoskins 15. Seth Nana Twumasi 23. Simon Gillett (72 mins for James Berrett) 17. Joel Grant (54 mins for Jordy Hiwula)

Notts County Bookings: Liam Noble (dissent, 30 mins). Red Card: Gary Jones (serious foul play, 29 mins)

Yeovil Bookings: Ben Nugent (40 mins, foul), Joe Edwards (41 mins, foul), Nathan Smith (49 mins, foul), Stephen Arthurworrey (70 mins, unknown incident)

Notts County Match Statistics: Possession: 43%; Shots: 5; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 2; Fouls: 6.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 57%; Shots: 17; Shots On Target: 7; Corners: 14; Fouls: 17.

Referee: Stuart Attwell (Warwickshire). Assistant Referees: Akil Howson (Leicestershire) and Jason Tyas (West Yorkshire). Fourth Official: Richard Wigglesworth (South Yorkshire).

Attendance: 7,746 (with 250 Yeovil supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape