Match Details: Yeovil Town v Crewe Alexandra
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Crewe Alexandra

Match Details: 16/09/2014
Yeovil Town 1-1 Crewe Alexandra
Skybet League One

Yeovil Goals: Kieffer Moore (72)

Yeovil Line-Up: 3. Nathan Smith, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Aaron Martin, 6. Jakub Sokolík, 7. Kevin Dawson, 10. AJ Leitch-Smith, 11. Sam Foley, 17. Joel Grant, 18. Jack Price, 20. Ben Nugent, 24. Jake Kean
Subs: 1. Chris Weale, 13. Kieffer Moore, 14. Sam Hoskins, 15. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi, 16. Nathan Ralph,

Substitutes Used: Kieffer Moore for Sam Foley (65 mins), Nathan Ralph for Kevin Dawson (66 mins), Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi for Jakub Sokolík (66 mins)

Bookings: Ben Nugent (Foul, 33), Kieffer Moore (Foul, 89)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town gained a home point against Crewe Alexandra tonight in a stuttering performance at Huish Park tonight. The 1-1 draw saw the Glovers have to come from behind after Billy Waters converted a parried Vadaine Oliver strike to give Crewe the lead, but they drew level when substitute Kieffer Moore headed home a Nathan Smith cross. Yeovil almost won the match in second half injury time when Joel Grant hit the woodwork in a crowded penalty box, but they ended up having to settle for a point - and still awaiting their first win on home soil of the 2014-15 season.

The Glovers went into the match with a long list of injuries, as James Berrett (thigh), Liam Davis (broken wrist), Simon Gillett (knee), right-back Brendan Moloney (knee), James Hayter (groin) and Calvin Brooks (calf) all sat out the game although Sam Hoskins was fit enough to sit on the bench. They also gave a debut to Blackburn Rovers keeper Jake Kean, with Chris Weale dropping to the bench, and Artur Krysiak dropping entirely out of the squad. James Hayter's groin injury meant that Joel Grant got his first start of the season.

In a first half in which both sides struggled to create clear-cut chances, most of the attempts went wide of the goal. Yeovil's only on target chance came when Joe Edwards forced the Crewe keeper to tip the ball over the crossbar, whilst Aaron Martin headed wide, and Joel Grant and Sam Foley shot over the bar. At the other end, Marcus Haber - once of tentative interest to Gary Johnson whilst the target man was at Stevenage - was the main threat, although his efforts were going wide. Scoreless at half time and that was a fair reflection of the game.

In the second period, Crewe came out looking much more authoritative. Jake Kean was forced into his first true save of the match when he turned a Marcus Haber header over his crossbar. Given that early pattern to the second period, their lead was deserved, but it was another soft goal. Jakub Sokolik lost possession, and
with echoes of Saturday's goal at Coventry, Vadaine Oliver's shot was parried into the path of Billy Waters, who converted from close range to give Crewe the lead.

With the away side having employed some extreme slow-down tactics, Yeovil knew what was coming from them, and manager Gary Johnson decided to make things unpredictable, with a triple substitution seeing Nathan Ralph, Seth Nana Twumasi and Kieffer Moore pushed on shortly after that goal. Ten minutes after Waters' opener, and six minutes after the substitutions they drew level, thanks to one of the new arrivals. Nathan Smith's left-wing cross into the box was well met by the head of Moore who thumped the ball home for the equaliser.

That was the cue for Crewe to seriously run down the clock, and Yeovil struggled to build up the head of steam they might have wanted from such a position. However, in second half injury time they almost snatched the win. A ball into the box was knocked down and Joel Grant seized on the half-chance. He thumped the ball against the goal post, but on the rebound Nathan Ralph fired wide of the target, and the visitors were more than happy to escape with a point. Yeovil far less so, as their search for three points at a venue that is normally so fruitful for them carries on one more game.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 1 Crewe Alexandra 1.

Scorers: Billy Waters (0-1, 62 mins), Kieffer Moore (1-1, 72 mins)

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
24. Jake Kean
6. Jakub Sokolik 5. Aaron Martin 20. Ben Nugent 3. Nathan Smith
7. Kevin Dawson 4. Joe Edwards 18. Jack Price 11. Sam Foley
10 AJ Leitch-Smith 17. Joel Grant.

1. Chris Weale 13. Kieffer Moore (65 mins for Sam Foley) 14. Sam Hoskins 15. Seth Nana Twumasi (66 mins for Jakub Sokolik) 16. Nathan Ralph (66 mins for Kevin Dawson)

Crewe Alexandra:
13. Ben Garratt
2. Matt Tootle 5. George Ray 15. Thierry Audel 3. Jon Guthrie
18. Liam Nolan 42. Anthony Grant 7. Oliver Turton 17. Billy Waters
25. Marcus Haber 9. Vadaine Oliver

1. Scott Shearer 6. Adam Dugdale 8. Chris Atkinson (83 mins for Vadaine Oliver) 11. George Cooper 20. James Jones 24. Greg Leigh 28. Jamie Ness

Yeovil Bookings: Ben Nugent (foul, 33 mins), Kieffer Moore (foul, 89 mins)

Crewe Bookings: None.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 51%; Shots: 14; Shots On Target: 4; Corners: 9; Fouls: 14.

Crewe Match Statistics: Possession: 49%; Shots: 8; Shots On Target: 5; Corners: 7; Fouls: 10.

Referee: Michael Bull (Essex). Assistant Referees: Paul Rees (Somerset) and Andrew Quin (Devon). Fourth Official: Lee Swabey (Devon).

Attendance: 3,509 (with 110 Crewe supporters)
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape