Match Details: Wigan Athletic v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Wigan Athletic v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 18/03/2014
Wigan Athletic 3-3 Yeovil Town
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals: Ishmael Miller (82), Ishmael Miller (85), Luke Ayling (90)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Marek Stech, 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Byron Webster, 11. Tom Lawrence, 15. Shane Duffy, 18. Matteo Lanzoni, 19. Joe Ralls, 23. Joel Grant, 27. Ishmael Miller,
Subs: 7. Kevin Dawson, 9. James Hayter, 13. Kieffer Moore, 14. Sam Hoskins, 24. Chris Dunn, 26. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi, 29. Adam Morgan

Substitutes Used: Kevin Dawson for Joel Grant (43 mins), Kieffer Moore for Matteo Lanzoni (71 mins)

Bookings: Luke Ayling (Foul, 7), Shane Duffy (Dissent, 25), Kevin Dawson (Foul, 75)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town grabbed an ultra-late point against Wigan Athletic this evening, in a drama-fuelled finish where both sides though they had won the match during the final ten minutes. The game had inched into the 95th minute when Luke Ayling got the final touch from a corner that saw both sides share out a 3-3 draw at the DW Stadium.

That scoreline had looked improbable during the opening 82 minutes of the match where both sides had frequently given the ball away in a scrappy match. Wigan had missed an opportunity to open the scoring 25 minutes into the match when referee Andy D'Urso controversially decided that Nick Powell had been fouled by Matteo Lanzoni. But Jordi Gomez saw his penalty kick superbly saved by Marek Stech who flung himself to his left to keep the game goalless.

Wigan finally got the lead when Nick Powell converted a close range header from a James McArthur cross from their right wing - and despite the Yeovil defence furiously appealing for an offside decision, referee D'Urso refused to overrule his linesman. At 1-0 Wigan largely controlled proceedings, until Yeovil brought on Kieffer Moore as a substitute, changing formations in the process and finally starting to put the Wigan defence under some concerted pressure.

That was rewarded in the 82nd minute when Ishmael Miller made room for himself from a Luke Ayling through ball, turning and firing home for the equalising goal. More was to come three minutes later when Ishmael Miller got his ninth goal of his loan spell with the Glovers - receiving a Jamie McAllister cross and then firing home from a narrow angle.

The points should have been in the bag at that point, but Wigan turned the game on its head once again, as sloppy defending allowed Jean Beausejour to find James McArthur in space, and he fired home past Marek Stech. Then Wigan took the lead as a low cross into the box saw Byron Webster struggling to get across his marker, only to put the ball into his own net.

At 3-2 up, Wigan looked as though they had won the match, but they didn't allow for yet more drama at the DW Stadium. In the final minute of five minutes of added time a Tom Lawrence corner was swung in, and both Marek Stech - up for the final corner - and Luke Ayling swung at the ball, with Ayling getting the final touch and sending 223 away supporters wild. It could have been three points, it could have been none - at the end of the 95 minutes it ended up being one. Just don't ever leave a football match early - you never know what you might miss.

Final Score: Wigan Athletic 3 Yeovil Town 3.

Scorers: Nick Powell (1-0, 56 mins), Ishmael Miller (1-1, 82 mins), Ishmael Miller (1-2, 85 mins), James McArthur (2-2, 86 mins), Byron Webster (3-2, 88 mins, own goal), Luke Ayling (3-3, 90 mins).

Wigan Athletic:
26. Ali Al Habsi
24. James Perch 17. Emmerson Boyce 21. Ivan Ramis 22. Jean Beausejour
4. Josh McEachran 16. James McArthur 14. Jordi Gomez
15. Callum McManaman 29. Nicky Maynard 56' 19. Nick Powell

1. Scott Carson 3. Stephen Crainey 6. Thomas Rogne (27 mins for James Perch) 11. James McClean 31. Ryan Tunnicliffe (68 mins for Josh McEachran) 32. Marc-Antoine Fortune (56 mins for Nicky Maynard) 33. Martyn Waghorn

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
1. Marek Stech
18. Matteo Lanzoni 5. Byron Webster 15. Shane Duffy 3. Jamie McAllister (Captain)
23. Joel Grant 4. Joe Edwards 2. Luke Ayling 19. Joe Ralls
11. Tom Lawrence
27. Ishmael Miller

7. Kevin Dawson (43 mins for Joel Grant) 9. James Hayter 13. Kieffer Moore (71 mins for Matteo Lanzoni) 14. Sam Hoskins 24. Chris Dunn 26. Seth Nana Ofori-Twumasi 29. Adam Morgan

Wigan Bookings: Callum McManaman (15 mins, handball), Joshua McEachran (45 mins, foul), Jordi Gomez (65 mins, foul)

Yeovil Bookings: Luke Ayling (7 mins, foul), Shane Duffy (25 mins, dissent), Kevin Dawson (75 mins, foul)

Wigan Match Statistics: Possession: 59%; Shots: 15; Shots On Target: 8; Corners: 5; Fouls: 13.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 41%; Shots: 12; Shots On Target: 4; Corners: 2; Fouls: 14.

Referee: Andy D'Urso (Essex). Assistants: Ian Cooper (Kent) and Guy Stretton (Leicestershire). Fourth Official: Iain Williamson (Berkshire).

Attendance: 12,970 (including 223 Yeovil supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape