Match Details: Yeovil Town v Huddersfield Town
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Huddersfield Town

Match Details: 21/04/2014
Yeovil Town 1-2 Huddersfield Town
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals: Tom Lawrence (73)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Marek Stech, 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Byron Webster, 7. Kevin Dawson, 8. Ruben Palazuelos, 9. James Hayter, 11. Tom Lawrence, 15. Shane Duffy, 19. Joe Ralls,
Subs: 10. Sam Foley, 14. Sam Hoskins, 18. Matteo Lanzoni, 21. Liam Davis, 23. Joel Grant, 24. Chris Dunn, 26. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi

Substitutes Used: Joel Grant for Joe Ralls (68 mins), Matteo Lanzoni for Kevin Dawson (68 mins), Sam Foley for Ruben Palazuelos (80 mins)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town were effectively relegated from the Championship this afternoon, after they lost 1-2 at home to Huddersfield Town thanks to a 97th minute goal from Adam Clayton. Whilst mathematicians and incurable optimists might point out that the "R" isn't beside Yeovil's name on the League table, in all practical terms their fate was sealed on a day that Charlton Athletic won, whilst Doncaster Rovers and Millwall drew, leaving only Birmingham City within range of the Glovers, but with a 13 goal superior goal difference, and six points better off, with just two games remaining.

The game itself was an edgy one at times, but one in which the Glovers really should have been ahead by the break, with James Hayter putting in two early headers - one from a Kevin Dawson cross saw the striker hit the crossbar. Tom Lawrence also got in behind the Huddersfield back line, with only the legs of Alex Smithies stopping him from opening the scoreline. Huddersfield barely threatened, but were able to get in at half time with the scoreline blank.

In a much more even second half, the Glovers were conscious of the fact that they needed all three points, but the game turned on them straight after a double substitution and a formation change that saw Byron Webster finish the game up front, with Matteo Lanzoni coming on as a centre-back. That moment perhaps disturbed the concentration of the defensive-minded players, as Ruben Palazuelos lost his man in midfield, and Adam Hammill - easily the best player on the park in the second period - crossed and allowed Nahki Wells to fire home from close range.

Yeovil's response was perfect. James Hayter was fouled right on the edge of the box, and Tom Lawrence stepped up for the free kick, lashing the ball home direct for an equaliser four minutes later. That set the game up for a big finale with 17 minutes remaining, and that time was extended further due to a lengthy injury to Danny Ward, who came off with concussion due to a head injury early in the second period.

Deep into eight minutes of the injury time added on for Ward's injury, and with the Glovers pushing every outfield player up for corners, it was Huddersfield who caught Yeovil with the sucker-punch. Once again Adam Hammill was the creator and he released the ball for Adam Clayton to fire home a 97th minute goal to break Yeovil's hearts. And with Charlton taking the lead at Sheffield Wednesday, and other results going against the Glovers, that Clayton goal was enough to - barring miracles - consign Yeovil to League One football for the 2014-15 season. It's been a ground-breaking fantastic season, but that journey now is drawing to an inevitable end.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 1 Huddersfield Town 2.

Scorers: Nahki Wells (69 mins, 0-1), Tom Lawrence (73 mins, 1-1), Adam Clayton (90 mins, 1-2)

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
1. Marek Stech
2. Luke Ayling 5. Byron Webster 15. Shane Duffy 3. Jamie McAllister (Captain)
7. Kevin Dawson 4. Joe Edwards 8. Ruben Palazuelos 19. Joe Ralls
9. James Hayter 11. Tom Lawrence

24. Chris Dunn 10. Sam Foley (80 mins for Ruben Palazuelos) 14. Sam Hoskins 18. Matteo Lanzoni (68 mins for Kevin Dawson) 21. Liam Davis 23. Joel Grant (68 mins for Joe Ralls) 26. Seth Nana Ofori-Twumasi

Huddersfield Town:
1. Alex Smithies
2. Calum Woods 39. Anthony Gerrard 15. Murray Wallace 3. Paul Dixon
12. Adam Hammill 8. Adam Clayton 4. Oliver Norwood 6. Jonathan Hogg 11. Danny Ward
21. Nahki Wells

5. Peter Clarke 7. Sean Scannell (50 mins for Danny Ward) 10. Oscar Gobern 13. Ian Bennett 27. Tom Smith 38. Duane Holmes (67 mins for Oliver Norwood) 44. Harry Bunn

Yeovil Bookings: None.

Huddersfield Bookings: Murray Wallace (foul, 65 mins)

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 44%; Shots: 9; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 3; Fouls: 8.

Huddersfield Match Statistics: Possession: 56%; Shots: 16; Shots On Target: 5; Corners: 9; Fouls: 10.

Referee: Stuart Attwell (Warwickshire). Assistants: Adam Hopkins (Devon) and Richard Martin (Weston-super-Mare). Fourth Official: Richard Hulme (Somerset).

Attendance: 5,903 (with 494 Huddersfield fans).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape