Match Details: Derby County v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Derby County v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 28/01/2014
Derby County 3-2 Yeovil Town
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals: John Lundstram (25), Ishmael Miller (34)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Marek Stech, 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Byron Webster, 13. Kieffer Moore, 15. Shane Duffy, 19. Joe Ralls, 23. Joel Grant, 27. Ishmael Miller, 31. John Lundstram
Subs: 7. Kevin Dawson, 8. Ed Upson, 9. James Hayter, 10. Sam Foley, 18. Matteo Lanzoni, 24. Chris Dunn, 29. Adam Morgan,

Substitutes Used: Kevin Dawson for Joel Grant (68 mins), Ed Upson for Ishmael Miller (80 mins)

Bookings: Joe Edwards (Foul, 11), Jamie McAllister (Foul, 19), Joe Ralls (Foul, 45), Kieffer Moore (Foul, 90)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town suffered a heart-breaking defeat against Derby County tonight, as they lost in the final minute of injury time at Pride Park. Having led by two goals at half time, the Glovers were still a goal to the good against promotion-chasing Derby County with three minutes to play. But two quick goals ensured they came home with a 3-2 defeat and nothing to show from a gutsy performance.

The Glovers twice took the lead during the first half against the run of play to stun the home crowd with their incisive shooting. Despite having to defend for much of the game, a rare attack saw John Lundstram fire home from the edge of the box to put his side 1-0 up. Then nine minutes later Ishmael Miller's superb counter-attack saw him race down the left wing, and cut inside before firing home from a narrow angle to produce a shock 2-0 half time scoreline.

Throughout the match, Derby had shown the sort of intense passing that had seen them win 3-0 at Huish Park earlier in the season. But it took them until the 50th minute before they finally had something to show for it, with Patrick Bamford taking advantage of the Yeovil defence's inability to clear their lines, reducing the deficit five minutes into the second half.

That woke up the home crowd who had been largely silent throughout the game, but dogged defending and some superb blocks saw Marek Stech stay largely clear of the ball when Derby's final shots on goal came in. With three minutes to go though, and with Yeovil having increasingly gifted possession back to Derby inside their own half, the Rams finally got themselves back into the game. Will Hughes patiently waited on the corner of the box, like a hockey player taking a short corner, and he teed up Craig Bryson who expertly fired the ball home for the equaliser.

Then came the heartbreak. Given the spirit that Yeovil had shown throughout the match, it was rough justice to concede again, 94 minutes and 30 seconds into the match - 30 seconds beyond the injury time that referee Jeremy Simpson had told his Fourth Official to signal for. Ed Upson conceded a free kick a few yards outside the box, Craig Bryson swung in the free kick and Chris Martin headed home from close range. Game over, and barely time for Yeovil to take the kick-off before the final whistle blew, and the results condemned the Glovers to the foot of the Championship table. It's going to be a long long journey home.

Final Score: Derby County 3 Yeovil Town 2.

Scorers: John Lundstram (25 mins, 0-1), Ishmael Miller (34 mins, 0-2), Patrick Bamford (50 mins, 1-2), Craig Bryson (87 mins, 2-2), Chris Martin (90 mins, 3-2)

Derby County:
1. Lee Grant 33. Andre Wisdom 6. Richard Keogh 25. Jake Buxton 3. Craig Forsyth 4. Craig Bryson 14. John Eustace 19. Will Hughes 35. Patrick Bamford 9. Chris Martin 32. Simon Dawkins

10. Jamie Ward (46 mins for John Eustance) 11. Johnny Russell (89 mins for Patrick Bamford) 18. Conor Sammon (79 mins for Simon Dawkins) 26. Adam Legzdins 27. Zak Whitbread 30. James Bailey 38. Michael Keane

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
1. Marek Stech
2. Luke Ayling 5. Byron Webster 15. Shane Duffy 3. Jamie McAllister (Captain)
23. Joel Grant 4. Joe Edwards 31. John Lundstram 19. Joe Ralls
27. Ishmael Miller 13. Kieffer Moore

24. Chris Dunn 7. Kevin Dawson (68 mins for Joel Grant) 8. Ed Upson (80 mins for Ishmael Miller) 9. James Hayter 10. Sam Foley 18. Matteo Lanzoni 29. Adam Morgan

Derby Bookings: Will Hughes (58 mins, foul)

Yeovil Bookings: Joe Edwards (11 mins, foul), Jamie McAllister (19 mins, foul), Joe Ralls (45 mins, foul), Kieffer Moore (90 mins, foul)

Derby Match Statistics: Possession: 67%; Shots: 36; Shots On Target: 9; Corners: 5; Fouls: 10.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 33%; Shots: 8; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 3; Fouls: 20.

Referee: Jeremy Simpson (Lancashire). Assistants: Danny Gratton (Staffordshire) and Andy Hendley (West Midlands). Fourth Official: Nigel Murphy (Nottinghamshire).

Attendance: 23,615 (including approx 200 Yeovil supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape