Match Details: Yeovil Town v Blackburn Rovers
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Blackburn Rovers

Match Details: 21/12/2013
Yeovil Town 0-1 Blackburn Rovers
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Marek Stech, 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Byron Webster, 15. Shane Duffy, 19. Joe Ralls, 21. Liam Davis, 23. Joel Grant, 27. Ishmael Miller, 31. John Lundstram
Subs: 7. Kevin Dawson, 8. Ed Upson, 9. James Hayter, 10. Sam Foley, 12. Gareth Stewart, 13. Kieffer Moore, 29. Adam Morgan,

Substitutes Used: Kevin Dawson for Byron Webster (35 mins), James Hayter for Liam Davis (68 mins), Ed Upson for John Lundstram (74 mins)

Bookings: Jamie McAllister (Foul, 28), John Lundstram (Foul, 72), Luke Ayling (Dissent, 74)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town suffered yet another 0-1 home defeat at Huish Park this afternoon, as a second half strike from Jordan Rhodes won the match for Blackburn Rovers. The goal kept the Glovers in the relegation zone despite playing their own part on a game played on a difficult pitch, and losing Byron Webster to a first half hamstring injury.

Following a poor first period, the final 45 minutes were an exciting end-to-end encounter, with Ishmael Miller striking the crossbar from 20 yards out, whilst Joe Ralls saw his curling effort go close for the Glovers, who also had two penalty appeals turned down as Miller went down in the box.

At the other end, Rhodes settled the game when his strike partner David Dunn squared the ball on the break allowing Blackburn's top scorer a chance to notch the winning goal. The pair kept Marek Stech busy enough on his return to the first team for him to pick up the sponsors man of the match, but the Glovers were unfortunate not to see their own forward play in the second period rewarded.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 0 Blackburn Rovers 1.

Scorers: Jordan Rhodes (59 mins, 0-1)

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
1. Marek Stech
2. Luke Ayling 15. Shane Duffy 5. Byron Webster 3. Jamie McAllister (Captain)
4. Joe Edwards 31. John Lundstram 19. Joe Ralls 21. Liam Davis
27. Ishmael Miller 23. Joel Grant

12. Gareth Stewart 7. Kevin Dawson (35 mins for Byron Webster) 8. Ed Upson (74 mins for John Lundstram) 9. James Hayter (68 mins for Liam Davis) 10. Sam Foley 13. Kieffer Moore 29. Adam Morgan

Blackburn Rovers:
13. Simon Eastwood
27. Adam Henley 16. Scott Dann 5. Grant Hanley 3. Tommy Spurr
19. Chris Taylor 6. Jason Lowe 45. Tom Cairney 12. Ben Marshall
8. David Dunn 11. Jordan Rhodes

4. Matthew Kilgallon 17. Lee Williamson (74 mins for Chris Taylor) 23. Ruben Rochina (67 mins for David Dunn) 25. Alan Judge 34. Jake Kean 39. Rudy Gestede (90 mins for Jordan Rhodes) 2. Todd Kane

Yeovil Bookings: Jamie McAllister (28 mins, foul), John Lundstram (72 mins, foul), Luke Ayling (74 mins, dissent/kicking ball away)

Blackburn Bookings: None.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 44%; Shots: 11; Shots On Target: 4; Corners: 5; Fouls: 13.

Blackburn Match Statistics: Possession: 56%; Shots: 25; Shots On Target: 10; Corners: 11; Fouls: 10.

Referee: Ian Williamson (Berkshire). Assistants: Adam Bromley (Devon) and John Busby (Oxfordshire). Fourth Official: Adam Hopkins (Devon).

Attendance: 7,179 (including 1,074 Blackburn supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape