Match Details: Doncaster Rovers v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Doncaster Rovers v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 22/11/2013
Doncaster Rovers 2-1 Yeovil Town
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals: Byron Webster (43)

Yeovil Line-Up: 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Byron Webster, 8. Ed Upson, 11. Fraser Fyvie, 14. Sam Hoskins, 15. Shane Duffy, 19. Joe Ralls, 23. Joel Grant, 24. Chris Dunn
Subs: 7. Kevin Dawson, 9. James Hayter, 10. Sam Foley, 12. Gareth Stewart, 17. Paddy Madden, 20. Liam Fontaine, 21. Liam Davis,

Substitutes Used: Kevin Dawson for Fraser Fyvie (31 mins), Liam Davis for Jamie McAllister (39 mins), James Hayter for Sam Hoskins (74 mins)

Bookings: Sam Hoskins (Foul, 66)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town suffered huge disappointment tonight, as they lost to old rivals Doncaster Rovers by a 2-1 scoreline at the Keepmoat Stadium tonight. A poor start to the match saw the home side deservedly take the lead when Fraser Fyvie gave the ball away inside his own half, allowing Mark Duffy to burst through the defence, and put the ball across for Dean Furman to convert from close range.

The Glovers took half an hour to work their way into the game - the early replacement of Fyvie for Kevin Dawson seemed to spark things into life, and they equalised when Liam Davis, who was also on as a sub for an injured Jamie McAllister, produced a deep ball into the box, which Shane Duffy headed down and Byron Webster converted from close range to pull the sides level at the break.

In a fairly even second half period, a series of events seemed to raise the temperature on a chilly evening. James Coppinger's blatant dive in the box saw referee Stuart Attwell rightly wave away his penalty appeals. Then scorer Dean Furman committed a bad foul when already on a second warning following a booking, leaving Attwell with one of the easier red card decisions he'll make all season.

That should have been the cue for the Glovers to take the game to Donny during the final ten minutes, but instead some sloppy play gave the home side the lead again. Joe Edwards gave away a needless foul on the corner of the area, and Mark Duffy spotted Chris Dunn relying a little bit too much upon his defensive wall - curling the ball over it and scoring direct at Dunn's near post. That was it, and the brief opportunity that should have existed to grab all three points went with Duffy's winner. Yeovil stay bottom, and now are five points short of safety.

Final Score: Doncaster Rovers 2 Yeovil Town 1.

Scorers: Dean Furman (1-0, 11 mins), Byron Webster (1-1, 43 mins), Mark Duffy (2-1, 82 mins).

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
24. Chris Dunn
2. Luke Ayling 15. Shane Duffy 5. Byron Webster 3. Jamie McAllister (Captain)
4. Joe Edwards 8. Ed Upson 19. Joe Ralls 11. Fraser Fyvie
14. Sam Hoskins 23. Joel Grant

12. Gareth Stewart, 7. Kevin Dawson (31 mins for Fraser Fyvie) 9. James Hayter (74 mins for Sam Hoskins) 10. Sam Foley 17. Paddy Madden 20. Liam Fontaine 21. Liam Davis (39 mins for Jamie McAllister)

Doncaster Rovers:
1. Ross Turnbull
2. Paul Quinn 14. Bongani Khumalo 12. Luke McCullough 32. Reece Wabara
11. David Cotterill 4. Dean Furman 19. Richie Wellens 7. Mark Duffy
10. Federico Macheda 22. Theo Robinson

24. Evan Finnegan 8. Billy Paynter (68 mins for Theo Robinson) 13. Jonathan Maxted 15. Liam Wakefield 21. Marc De Val Fernandez (87 mins for Federico Macheda) 26. James Coppinger (65 mins for David Cotterill) 30. Alex Peterson

Doncaster Bookings: Dean Furman (foul, 28 mins), Reece Wabara (foul, 59 mins). Red Card: Dean Furman (80 mins, second bookable offence, foul).

Yeovil Bookings: Sam Hoskins (foul, 66 mins)

Doncaster Match Statistics: Possession: 54%; Shots: 12; Shots On Target: 6; Corners: 5; Fouls: 10.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 46%; Shots: 12; Shots On Target: 6; Corners: 7; Fouls: 14.

Referee: Stuart Attwell (Warwickshire). Assistants: Simon Barrow (Staffordshire) and Edward Smart (West Midlands). Fourth Official: Kevin Wright (Cambridgeshire).

Attendance: 6,620 (including 184 Yeovil fans).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape