Match Details: Yeovil Town v Nottingham Forest
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Nottingham Forest

Match Details: 26/10/2013
Yeovil Town 3-1 Nottingham Forest
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals: Ed Upson (8), Ed Upson (40), Byron Webster (43)

Yeovil Line-Up: 3. Jamie McAllister, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Byron Webster, 7. Kevin Dawson, 8. Ed Upson, 14. Sam Hoskins, 15. Shane Duffy, 19. Joe Ralls, 21. Liam Davis, 23. Joel Grant, 27. Wayne Hennessey,
Subs: 2. Luke Ayling, 9. James Hayter, 10. Sam Foley, 17. Paddy Madden, 20. Liam Fontaine, 24. Chris Dunn, 28. Andy Williams

Substitutes Used:

Bookings: Ed Upson (Foul, 24), Kevin Dawson (Foul, 41), Joe Ralls (Foul, 46), Sam Hoskins (Ungentlemanly Conduct, 57)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town gained their first ever Championship home win this afternoon, as they grabbed all three points against Nottingham Forest at Huish Park. Matches against Forest have a habit of being great spectacles for Glovers fans, and this one was no exception with all four goals being scored in the opening 45 minutes. Ed Upson's shot from distance came after he received the ball from a throw-in to give Yeovil the opener, but the Glovers had to rely upon goalkeeper Wayne Hennessey who made a terrific double-save from a Simon Cox penalty after the same player had judged to be fouled by Shane Duffy inside the box, with Byron Webster clearing a third Forest attempt to score off the line.

Five minutes from the break, the game went goal crazy as Ed Upson got his second of the day, as he fired home from 20 yards out, following Kevin Dawson's pass. Then Forest pulled a goal back from Nathaniel Chalobah, who got himself space in the box following a Chris Cohen free kick that was headed by Jack Hobbs inside the box. But then a minute later, Ed Upson's corner was headed home by Byron Webster, with the ball coming off the inside of the post, and an assistant referee ruling that the ball had crossed the line. Forest came back into the match during the second period, as Yeovil defended their advantage, but there were no further goals, thus lifting the Glovers off the foot of the table, leapfrogging Barnsley and Sheffield Wednesday who both drew today in a lunchtime kick-off.

Yeovil Town 3 Nottingham Forest 1.

Scorers: Ed Upson (1-0, 8 mins), Ed Upson (2-0, 40 mins), Nathaniel Chalobah (2-1, 42 mins), Byron Webster (3-1, 43 mins).

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
27. Wayne Hennessy
4. Joe Edwards 15. Shane Duffy 5. Byron Webster 3. Jamie McAllister (Captain)
7. Kevin Dawson 8. Ed Upson 19. Joe Ralls 21. Liam Davis
23. Joel Grant 14. Sam Hoskins

24. Chris Dunn, 2. Luke Ayling 9. James Hayter 10. Sam Foley 17. Paddy Madden 20. Liam Fontaine 28. Andy Williams

Nottingham Forest:
1. Karl Darlow
2. Eric Lichaj 25. Jack Hobbs 16. Jamaal Lascelles 8. Chris Cohen
18. Gonzalo Jara 7. Nathaniel Chalobah 28. Radoslaw Majewski 11. Andy Reid
9. Darius Henderson 31. Simon Cox

3. Dan Harding (46 mins for Nathaniel Chalobah) 12. Jamie Mackie (63 mins for Simon Cox) 15. Greg Halford 21. Jamie Paterson (69 mins for Radoslaw Majewski) 27. Matt Derbyshire 35. Khalid Al-Rashidi 39. Djamel Abdoun

Yeovil Bookings: Ed Upson (foul, 24 mins), Kevin Dawson (foul, 41 mins), Joe Ralls (foul, 46 mins), Sam Hoskins (kicking ball away, 57 mins)

Forest Bookings: Nathaniel Chalobah (foul, 45 mins), Jamaal Lascelles (foul, 54 mins), Andy Reid (foul, 90 mins)

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 37%; Shots: 16; Shots On Target: 8; Corners: 8; Fouls: 12.

Forest Match Statistics: Possession: 63%; Shots: 27; Shots On Target: 13; Corners: 10; Fouls: 16.

Referee: Mick Russell (Hertfordshire). Assistants: Daniel Cook (Hampshire) and Constantine Hatzidakis (Kent). Fourth Official: Charles Breakspear (Surrey).

Attendance: 7,612 (including 2,099 Forest supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape