Match Details: Ipswich Town v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Ipswich Town v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 17/09/2013
Ipswich Town 2-1 Yeovil Town
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals: Joel Grant (43)

Yeovil Line-Up: 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 4. Joe Edwards, 6. Dan Seaborne, 8. Ed Upson, 9. James Hayter, 19. Joe Ralls, 20. Liam Fontaine, 23. Joel Grant, 27. Wayne Hennessey, 28. Andy Williams
Subs: 7. Kevin Dawson, 10. Sam Foley, 13. Kieffer Moore, 14. Sam Hoskins, 21. Liam Davis, 24. Chris Dunn, 26. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi,

Substitutes Used: Kieffer Moore for James Hayter (62 mins), Liam Davis for Joe Edwards (70 mins), Sam Hoskins for Joel Grant (77 mins)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town went down to a 2-1 defeat at Portman Road tonight, as Ipswich Town came from a goal behind to secure all three points. The Glovers ended up going home pointless despite Joel Grant producing a superb shot into the top corner just before half time after good work by Andy Williams up front.

That goal came somewhat against the run of play, and so it was no surprise to see the Suffolk club come back into the match, with Daryl Murphy's equaliser coming after he notched the rebound from his own shot that had hit the crossbar. Then Aaron Creswell turned the tables as he took advantage from a half-clearance to put the Tractor Boys ahead - a lead that on the whole they didn't look like surrendering, despite Joe Ralls almost snatching a point deep into injury time when his shot was saved by Dean Gerken.

Link: 2013-14 Latest Championship Table.

Final Score: Ipswich Town 2 Yeovil Town 1.

Scorers: Joel Grant (0-1, 43 mins), Daryl Murphy (1-1, 53 mins), Aaron Creswell (2-1, 60 mins)

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
27. Wayne Hennessy
2. Luke Ayling 20. Liam Fontaine 6. Dan Seabourne 3. Jamie McAllister (Capt)
23. Joel Grant 8. Ed Upson 4. Joe Edwards 19. Joe Ralls
28. Andy Williams 9. James Hayter

24. Chris Dunn, 10. Sam Foley, 7. Kevin Dawson 13. Kieffer Moore (62 mins for James Hayter) 14. Sam Hoskins (77 mins for Joel Grant) 21. Liam Davis (70 mins for Joe Edwards) 26. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi

Ipswich Town:
22. Dean Gerken
4. Luke Chambers 6. Christophe Berra 5. Tommy Smith 3. Aaron Cresswell
7. Carlos Edwards 8. Cole Skuse 19. Luke Hyam 16. Ryan Tunnicliffe
9. Daryl Murphy 10. David McGoldrick

1. Scott Loach 2. Elliott Hewitt 14. Anthony Wordsworth 18. Jay Tabb (78 mins for Ryan Tunnicliffe) 20. Frederic Veseli 26. Paul Taylor 35. Frank Nouble

Ipswich Bookings: None.

Yeovil Bookings: None.

Ipswich Match Statistics: Possession: 55%; Shots: 18; Shots On Target: 7; Corners: 7; Fouls: 8.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 45%; Shots: 6; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 3; Fouls: 8.

Referee: Darren Deadman (Cambridgeshire). Assistants: Ian Crouch (Kent) and Michael George (Norfolk). Fourth Official: Alan Young (Cambridgeshire).

Attendance: 15,340 (including 155 Yeovil supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape