Match Details: Yeovil Town v Sheffield United
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Sheffield United

Match Details: 06/05/2013
Yeovil Town 2-0 Sheffield United
League One Play-Off Semi-Final Second Leg

Yeovil Goals: Kevin Dawson (6), Ed Upson (85)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Marek Stech, 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 5. Byron Webster, 8. Ed Upson, 9. James Hayter, 14. Sam Foley, 17. Paddy Madden, 18. Daniel Burn, 20. Joe Edwards, 22. Kevin Dawson,
Subs: 4. Richard Hinds, 6. Dominic Blizzard, 10. Gavin Williams, 12. Gareth Stewart, 13. Vitalijs Maksimenko, 15. Lewis Young, 29. Angelo Balanta

Substitutes Used: Richard Hinds for James Hayter (90 mins)

Bookings: Kevin Dawson (Ungentlemanly Conduct, 6)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town secured a trip to Wembley Stadium for only the second time in their history this afternoon, as they edged past Sheffield United in a thrilling Play-Off Semi-Final Second Leg game at Huish Park. Trailing by a single goal from the first leg at Bramall Lane, they levelled up just six minutes into the tie when Kevin Dawson latched onto an Ed Upson through ball. That put the tie in the balance until five minutes from time until a Paddy Madden cross found Upson on the near post, and his header right in front of the home terrace sent Huish Park into delirium and sent the club on its way to its second League One Play-Off Final.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 2 Sheffield United 0. (Yeovil win 2-1 on aggregate).

Scorers: Kevin Dawson (6 mins, 1-0), Ed Upson (85 mins, 2-0)

Yeovil Town: (4-4-2)
1. Marek Stech
2. Luke Ayling 5. Byron Webster 18. Dan Burn 3. Jamie McAllister (Capt)
22. Kevin Dawson 20. Joe Edwards 8. Ed Upson 14. Sam Foley
9. James Hayter 17. Paddy Madden

12. Gareth Stewart 4. Richard Hinds (90 mins for James Hayter) 6. Dominic Blizzard 10. Gavin Williams 13. Vitalijs Maksimenko 15. Lewis Young 29. Angelo Balanta

Sheffield United:
25. George Long
2. Darryl Westlake 5. Harry Maguire 15. Neill Collins 6. Matt Hill
23. Jamie Murphy 11. Kevin McDonald 8. Michael Doyle 26. Callum McFadzean
9. Chris Porter 24. Joe Ironside

35. Danny Coyne 4. Danny Higginbotham 7. Ryan Flynn (87 mins for Callum McFadzean) 14. Dave Kitson (64 mins for Joe Ironside) 21. Jordan Chapell 27. Elliott Whitehouse 33. Aaron Barry

Yeovil Town Bookings: Kevin Dawson (6 mins, excessive celebration)

Sheffield United Bookings: Harry Maguire (40 mins, foul), Kevin McDonald (90 mins, dissent)

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 52%; Shots: 11; Shots On Target: 4; Corners: 4; Fouls: 8.

Sheffield United Match Statistics: Possession: 48%; Shots: 13; Shots On Target: 6; Corners: 4; Fouls: 9.

Referee: Philip Gibbs (West Midlands). Assistants: Marc Perry (West Midlands) and Edward Smart (West Midlands). Fourth Official: Oliver Langford (West Midlands).

Attendance: 8,152 (with 1,119 Sheffield United supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape