Match Details: Yeovil Town v Notts County
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Notts County

Match Details: 08/12/2012
Yeovil Town 0-0 Notts County
npower League One

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Marek Stech, 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 5. Byron Webster, 8. Ed Upson, 10. Gavin Williams, 14. Sam Foley, 17. Paddy Madden, 18. Daniel Burn, 21. Korey Smith, 22. Joe Edwards
Subs: 4. Richard Hinds, 6. Dominic Blizzard, 9. James Hayter, 11. Reuben Reid, 12. Gareth Stewart, 19. Gozie Ugwu,

Substitutes Used: James Hayter for Gavin Williams (77 mins)

Bookings: Luke Ayling (Foul, 1), Sam Foley (Ungentlemanly Conduct, 63)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town managed their first goalless home match for nearly three years this afternoon, as they struck a 0-0 draw against top six side Notts County. The last time a Huish Park crowd witnessed a game without goals came back in February 2010, when both they and Gillingham drew a blank, but this was not a bore-draw, with the home fans kept entertained by a committed performance, and by Magpies keeper Bartosz Bialkowski ensuring nothing hit the back of the net, most notably when he clawed away a Dan Burn header during the second half. But ultimately the two teams couldn't be divided, and instead had to settle for a point each.

The Glovers went into the match making one change to their starting line-up with striker Paddy Madden recalled to the team following an enforced two game break. Dale Bennett was left out of the side as the club's sixth loanee, although with it transpiring that he has a back injury that will not see him return to action at the club. On the bench, there was some good news with Dominic Blizzard making his return after a month out with a groin injury - James Hayter joined him there after making way for Madden.

The game nearly got off to a horror start as Luke Ayling brought down Jeff Hughes on the edge of the box with the first tackle of the game. The right-back got a yellow card that could have with the wrong referee seen a red, and there was a let-off when Alan Sheehan's free kick struck the wall, and the loose ball fell to Neal Bishop whose shot was well saved by Marek Stech. The home side wobbled and it took them around five minutes or so to compose themselves.

Gradually though, the game began to swing to a more even pattern, and the longer the half went on, the more chances started to head in Yeovil's direction. Perhaps the problem was that they were falling to the wrong people - Byron Webster headed over the bar, whilst Luke Ayling, who has never scored a professional first team goal, found his attempt blocked by Bartosz Bialkowski. A obvious goalscorer Sam Foley fired just wide of the target, as did Joe Edwards. At the other end, County's chances were rarer, but they still looked well organised and dangerous, with Yoann Arquin in particular forcing Stech to parry one attempt before the break.

Whilst the Glovers had perhaps edged the first half, there was little doubt about which side dominated the second. Yeovil started off well as Gavin Williams had a shot blocked for a corner, then visiting keeper Bartosz Bialkowski punched away an Ed Upson attempt. There was also a bizarre moment from referee Andrew Madley as he waved away an apparent foul on Sam Foley, allowing play to continue, but then returned to show him a yellow card - apparently for "diving" - with the home crowd reacting with fury at the West Yorkshire referee's decision-making.

The card count was a concern for both sides - whilst Luke Ayling had to deal with playing for 89 minutes on a yellow, the Magpies managed to clock up five yellows despite the game never being anything other than 'competitive' in the way that it was played. Then came the save of the match - Jamie McAllister's free kick was met perfectly by the head of Dan Burn, diverting the ball towards goal, but Bartosz Bialkowski flung himself across to palm the ball away, with the Glovers players appealing that it had crossed the line - referee Madley and his linesman decided otherwise, or couldn't be sure.

With all the Yeovil Town pressure, the worry was that they could get a sucker punch - with ten minutes remaining that almost came, as a slip by Dan Burn let in Alan Judge as Yoann Arquin slipped the ball through. That was Notts County's big chance to steal the points, but Judge dragged his shot wide of the target to keep it 0-0. More Yeovil pressure followed in the closing stages, but they couldn't get that killer goal they needed and the end result was a rare shut-out - a Huish Park match without a goal. That sees Yeovil drop one place in the table to 13th, although with them now 10 points off the relegation spots, and seven points off the play-offs, this is a solid mid-table position for them as they approach the mid-season stage of the season.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 0 Notts County 0.

Scorers: None.

Yeovil Town: (4-4-2)
1. Marek Stech
2. Luke Ayling 5. Byron Webster 18. Daniel Burn 3. Jamie McAllister
22. Joe Edwards 8. Ed Upson 21. Korey Smith 14. Sam Foley
17. Paddy Madden 10. Gavin Williams

12. Gareth Stewart 4. Richard Hinds 6. Dominic Blizzard 9. James Hayter (77 mins for Gavin Williams) 11. Reuben Reid 19. Gozie Ugwu

Notts County:
1. Bartosz Bialkowski
27. Carl Regan 8. Gary Liddle 6. Dean Leacock 3. Alan Sheehan
11. Jeff Hughes 14. Gavin Mahon 10. Alan Judge 4. Neal Bishop 15. Yoann Arquin
34. Chris Iwelumo

12. Liam Mitchell 2. Julian Kelly 9. Enoch Showunmi (82 mins for Yoann Arquin) 13. Francois Zoko (71 mins for Gavin Mahon) 16. Joss Labadie (90 mins for Alan Judge) 18. Hamza Bencherif 26. Haydn Hollis

Yeovil Bookings: Luke Ayling (foul, 1 min), Sam Foley (diving, 63 mins)

Notts County Bookings: Gavin Mahon (foul, 29 mins), Neal Bishop (foul, 41 mins), Dean Leacock (foul, 44 mins), Alan Judge (foul, 65 mins), Yoann Arquin (foul, 82 mins)

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 50%; Shots: 15; Shots On Target: 7; Corners: 10; Fouls: 13.

Notts County Match Statistics: Possession: 50%; Shots: 4; Shots On Target: 2; Corners: 6; Fouls: 19.

Referee: Andrew Madley (West Yorkshire). Assistants: Nigel Lugg (Surrey) and Marc Perry (West Midlands). Fourth Official: Adrian Tranter (Dorset).

Attendance: 3,355 (including 235 Notts County supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape