Match Details: Brighton and Hove Albion v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Brighton and Hove Albion v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 23/10/2010
Brighton and Hove Albion 2-0 Yeovil Town
npower League One

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 5. Paul Huntington, 6. Nathan Smith, 8. Luke Ayling, 9. Sam Williams, 10. Dean Bowditch, 13. Stephen Henderson, 16. Ed Upson, 18. Luke Freeman, 20. Owain Tudur Jones, 21. Jean-Paul Kamudimba Kalala, 24. Gavin Williams,
Subs: 1. John Sullivan, 3. Nathan Jones, 7. Andy Williams, 11. Andy Welsh, 17. Craig Calver, 23. Billy Gibson, 31. Rhys Baggridge

Substitutes Used: Andy Williams for Luke Freeman (57 mins), Andy Welsh for Ed Upson (65 mins), Craig Calver for Dean Bowditch (82 mins)

Bookings: Jean-Paul Kamudimba Kalala (Foul, 34)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town were comfortably beaten by League One leaders Brighton and Hove Albion at the Withdean Stadium this afternoon. An injury and illness ravaged Glovers side struggled to compete with the quality of the Seagulls squad, and despite doing a good containment job on them during the first half, a crucial header from Glenn Murray just before the break was followed up by an excellent strike from Inigo Calderon midway through the second period.

The Glovers went into the game making two forced changes and one tactical change as they attempted to deal with the prospect of playing the League One leaders with numerous players missing. Shaun MacDonald was out through illness whilst Craig Alcock's back problem defeated him and Adam Virgo suffered disappointment as his groin strain put him out against his former club. Even the normal physio was absent at the Withdean Stadium, with Phil Cole replacing Simon Baker as the man with the sponge bag.

Yeovil started well, employing a diamond formation to act as a containment operation against the Seagulls, and it served them well, frustrating Brighton and giving them few outlets towards Stephen Henderson's goal. A fairly tame shot on target from Gavin Williams was the first early chance, whilst at the other end Inigo Calderon shot over the bar as the Seagulls were reduced to aiming at the goal from distance.

As the half wore on, Brighton boss Gus Poyet changed his own formation to match up with the Glovers, switching Elliott Bennett into the centre where he started to get a lot more opportunity to put pressure on the Glovers back four. The winger, who scored against the Glovers during the final game of last season, was involved in three moves that almost brought joy for the home fans as they finally began to turn the screw over the final 15 minutes of the half.

Despite that, it was the Glovers who almost gifted Brighton an opening goal, as Paul Huntington and Owain Tudur Jones got in each others way, with Hungtington's clearance ricocheting off Jones, and looping over Stephen Henderson who could only watch as the ball came off the inside of the far post, mercifully coming back into his grasp as Glenn Murray bore down on him for the rebound.

The deadlock was broken two minutes before the break when Brighton's flamboyant wide man Kazenga LuaLua put a cross into the box, and stand-in centre-back Owain Tudur Jones couldn't get there, leaving Nathan Smith attempting to cover, but Glenn Murray planted a deft header across Stephen Henderson for the opening goal. Disappointing to say the least, as if the Glovers had managed to keep the scoreline blank by half time, they could have easily built on that.

The second half opened with Brighton spending much of the opening five minutes with ten men after Adam El-Abd collided with Sam Williams suffering a facial injury that the Seagulls took an age to decide to deal with, eventually bringing on Tommy Elphick.

But once they had their full eleven players on the field of play, the Seagulls doubled their lead as the Glovers went to sleep a little bit from a free kick, taken by Marcos Painter. The former Swansea City man produced a long range pass through to Inigo Calderon, and he was given far too much room to cut inside from the flank and fire from distance into the bottom left hand corner past Stephen Henderson for a 2-0 scoreline. A nice goal, but disappointing that he had so much room to aim at goal.

The Glovers made a couple of substitutions, initially introducing Andy Williams, and then Andy Welsh, eventually abandoning the diamond formation in favour of an orthodox 4-4-2 line-up. But the Seagulls were still able to look the more dangerous, with Glenn Murray getting room away from Owain Tudur Jones to fire a shot which Stephen Henderson saved well. At the other end, chances were rare, but Dean Bowditch tried his best to squirm the ball home from an impossible angle on a rare Yeovil attack.

As the game died down somewhat, former Yeovil Town loan midfielder Liam Bridcutt became Brighton's second substitution, coming up against his former team for the first time. Overall the home side looked comfortable and appeared to be playing within themselves, knowing that unless they did something daft that they had the points wrapped up. The Glovers will have mitigating circumstances that gave them few hopes against the Seagulls even before the game had kicked off, but from managing two wins in a row, they've now lost two in a row, and they will need to work hard against Swindon Town next weekend, to ensure that doesn't continue. The Glovers slip to 20th in the League One table, with little room to manoeuvre.

Link: Latest 2010-11 League One Table.

Final Score: Brighton and Hove Albion 2 Yeovil Town 0.

Scorers: Glenn Murray (43 mins, 1-0), Inigo Calderon (56 mins, 2-0)

Brighton and Hove Albion:
16. Casper Ankergren
3. Gordon Greer 6. Adam El-Abd 14. Inigo Calderon 22. Marcos Painter
7. Elliott Bennett 18. Gary Dicker 25. Radostin Kishishev 12. Kazenga LuaLua
9. Ashley Barnes 17. Glenn Murray

1. Peter Brezovan (GK) 4. Tommy Elphick (51 mins for Adam El-Abd) 5. Agustin Battipiedi 11. Cristian Baz (86 mins for Kazenga LuaLua) 15. Gary Hart 24. Jamie Smith 26. Liam Bridcutt (77 mins for Ashley Barnes)

Yeovil Town (4-1-2-1-2):
13. Stephen Henderson
8. Luke Ayling 20. Owain Tudur Jones 5. Paul Huntington 6. Nathan Smith
21. Jean-Paul Kalala
16. Edward Upson 24. Gavin Williams
10. Dean Bowditch
9. Sam Williams 18. Luke Freeman

1. John Sullivan (GK) 3. Nathan Jones 7. Andrew Williams (57 mins for Luke Freeman) 11. Andy Welsh (65 mins for Ed Upson) 17. Craig Calver (82 mins for Dean Bowditch) 23. Billy Gibson 31. Rhys Baggridge

Brighton Bookings: None.

Yeovil Bookings: Jean-Paul Kalala (foul, 34 mins)

Referee: Phil Crossley (Kent). Assistants: Stephen Daly (Middlesex) and Carl Fitch (Suffolk). Fourth Official: John Magill (Essex).

Attendance: 7,253.
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape