Match Details: Brighton and Hove Albion v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Brighton and Hove Albion v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 08/05/2010
Brighton and Hove Albion 1-0 Yeovil Town
Coca Cola League One

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Alex McCarthy, 2. Craig Alcock, 4. Stefan Stam, 5. Terrell Forbes, 8. Keiran Murtagh, 11. Andy Welsh, 14. Dean Bowditch, 16. Scott Murray, 17. Aidan Downes, 19. Luke Ayling, 28. Nathan Smith,
Subs: 3. Nathan Jones, 7. Arron Davies, 15. Richard Martin, 20. Gavin Williams, 23. Danny Hutchins, 31. Rhys Baggridge

Substitutes Used: Gavin Williams for Aidan Downes (63 mins), Arron Davies for Andy Welsh (73 mins), Danny Hutchins for Luke Ayling (83 mins)

Bookings: Luke Ayling (Foul, 70)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town slipped to a 1-0 defeat against Brighton and Hove Albion this afternoon to complete their 2009-10 season and to finish in 15th place in the League One table. An Elliott Bennett goal was one of the bright sparks in a game that had all of the trappings of an end of season match between two teams that had nothing to play for.

The Glovers made four changes to their starting line-up, with Steven Caulker, Gavin Tomlin, Gavin Williams and Jean-Paul Kalala all dropping out of the side, meaning that Stefan Stam was able to make his comeback into the side following his hamstring injury. Aidan Downes took a position out on the right wing, whilst Luke Ayling took a central midfield position. Meanwhile Scott Murray was the most advanced midfielder in a 4-5-1 formation.

It took 20 minutes for either side to have any sort of a shot, as Sebastien Carole fired wide for the home side, which was quickly followed by an attempt from Elliott Bennett that Alex McCarthy comfortably saved, and another from Gavin Hoyte that went wide. Yeovil managed their first of the match on the half hour mark when Dean Bowditch was closed down by Brighton keeper Mitchell Walker to stop the Glovers top scorer from opening his account on the day.

Dean Bowditch then sent a header over the bar, whilst Keiran Murtagh had a shot parried by home keeper Walker, with Andy Welsh racing in to follow up. Then at the other end, a snapshot from Alan Navarro from the edge of the penalty box saw a superb save from Alex McCarthy as the game finally began to warm up, with McCarthy's save turning the ball around the post for a corner.

Just as it seemed as though the game was going to go into the break goalless at half time, in a fairly sleepy end of season way, Elliott Bennett produced a belter of a shot to put the Seagulls a goal up. A good passing move appeared to be fairly run-of-the-mill in terms of its build-up, but when the ball reached the Brighton winger, he wasn't closed down, and he advanced with a superbly struck shot to give Brighton the edge at the break.

The second period opened with again little in the way of action. Gavin Williams was introduced just past the hour mark as a substitute for Aidan Downes, as Yeovil reverted to a 4-4-1-1 formation, giving them a little bit more bite up front. Minutes later, Scott Murray fired narrowly over the bar, with the former Bristol City player having moved out to a wide right position.

But little changed, with Yeovil's nearest chance in the closing stages coming when Dean Bowditch charged down the Brighton keeper with his shot ricocheting off his body and out for a goal kick. Gavin Williams shot wide of the target, but that was as good as it got for the Glovers, with the final match of the season ending with a bit of a dull thud than with a bang.

Not that you would expect too much else, with the players finally being able to take their foot off the pedal after 45 games of pressure. A 15th placed finish is clearly a good thing for the Glovers, although the three point gap between themselves and the relegation spots clearly shows how fine a line things can be in the end.

Final Score: Brighton and Hove Albion 1 Yeovil Town 0.

Scorer: Elliott Bennett (44 mins, 1-0)

Brighton and Hove Albion (4-5-1):
13 Walker 04 Elphick 06 El-Abd 22 Painter 27 Hoyte 08 Navarro 20 Crofts 21 Carole 26 Bennett 34 Hendrie 33 Holroyd

29 Brezovan, 03 McNulty, 37 Dunk, 15 Hart, 18 Dicker (88 mins for Andrew Crofts), 38 Caskey (76 mins for Holroyd), 36 Barnes (76 mins for Carole)

Yeovil Town (4-5-1):
1. Alex McCarthy
2. Craig Alcock 4. Stefan Stam 6. Terrell Forbes 28. Nathan Smith
17. Aidan Downes 19. Luke Ayling 8. Keiran Murtagh 11. Andy Welsh
16. Scott Murray
14. Dean Bowditch

7. Arron Davies (73 mins for Andy Welsh), 20. Gavin Williams (63 mins for Aidan Downes) 15. Richard Martin, 3. Nathan Jones, 31. Rhys Baggridge, 23. Danny Hutchins (83 mins for Luke Ayling).

Brighton Bookings: None.
Yeovil Bookings: Luke Ayling (70 mins, foul)

Referee: Steve Tanner (Somerset). Assistants: Steve Creighton (Berkshire) and Gary Young (Bedfordshire). Fourth Official: Rob Whitton (Essex).

Attendance: 7,323 (including 366 Yeovil fans)
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape