Match Details: Milton Keynes Dons v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Milton Keynes Dons v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 05/12/2009
Milton Keynes Dons 2-2 Yeovil Town
Coca Cola League One

Yeovil Goals: Dean Bowditch (1), Shaun MacDonald (17)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Alex McCarthy, 2. Craig Alcock, 5. Steven Caulker, 6. Terrell Forbes, 9. Sam Williams, 10. Gavin Tomlin, 13. Ryan Mason, 14. Dean Bowditch, 21. Jean-Paul Kamudimba Kalala, 25. Shaun MacDonald, 28. Nathan Smith
Subs: 4. Stefan Stam, 7. George O'Callaghan, 11. Andy Welsh, 15. Richard Martin, 16. Scott Murray, 23. Danny Hutchins, 26. Jonathan Obika,

Substitutes Used: George O'Callaghan for Ryan Mason (62 mins), Jonathan Obika for Dean Bowditch (73 mins)

Bookings: Terrell Forbes (Foul, 56), Jean-Paul Kamudimba Kalala (Foul, 79)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town gained a valuable away draw at Milton Keynes Dons today as a quickfire start threatened to send them away with all three points. The Glovers netted within a minute of play starting as Dean Bowditch netted his third of the season, but Sam Baldock was equally quick off the mark giving the game two goals in four minutes. Shaun MacDonald restored Yeovil's advantage midway through the first half as the Glovers dominated, but the second period saw them pegged back, and a Peter Leven penalty tied the game at 2-2 and in the end Yeovil had to settle for a point.

Manager Terry Skiverton threatened wholesale changes, and implied he wasn't convinced about his team's ability to play with wingers away from home and he did just that, changing formation and personnel to produce a 4-1-2-1-2 diamond formation that at times through the movement of players tended to merge into a 4-3-3 formation, with Jean-Paul Kalala as the deepest midfielder and Gavin Tomlin often dropping deep to link between the midfield and the forward line.

Another thing that Skiverton promised to "eradicate" was Yeovil's slow starts to recent games. It's doubtful though whether he quite preplanned the kind of response that he got - Dean Bowditch netting just 33 seconds into the match from just inside the box, after a long Alex McCarthy kick was chested down by Sam Williams into the path of Gavin Tomlin, who instantly thread Bowditch with devastating results.

An equaliser wasn't far behind though, and the Dons found it just four minutes into a crazy start to the game. Threading the ball down Yeovil's left side, Aaron Wilbraham cut the ball through to Sam Baldock and he shot an angled drive home past Alex McCarthy to level the scores.

Overall though, the Glovers were firmly on top, and they took the lead with a superb piece of counter-attacking 17 minutes into the match. Gavin Tomlin's run up the centre, saw him slot the ball wide to Shaun MacDonald, and the midfielder struck a similar shot to Baldock's goal, firing across Willy Gueret to give Yeovil back the lead.

It was a lead that they certainly deserved on the first half play, with the Dons back line looking nervous and finding it hard to pick up what was pretty much four Yeovil strikers on the field of play. Centre-back David McCracken was extraordinarily lucky to stay on the field when he felled Dean Bowditch who was through on goal. One certainly for the video replays, but after the Yeovil players surrounded the referee, Paul Tierney only produced a yellow card. Had the Dons gone down to 10 men at that stage, they would have been in real problems. It was only as the half closed out that it appeared that the home side were getting to grips with the Yeovil forward line, and the Glovers definitely deserved their lead.

No big surprises that home manager Paul Ince would be reacting to Yeovil's new formation and dishing out his own instructions. Thus the second half opened with Yeovil increasingly under the cosh, and the Dons forward line threatening from a series of corners - forcing 15 of them throughout the match, but with the head of Wilbraham often failing to find direction from those set pieces.

With the Glovers struggling to get out of their own half, George O'Callaghan was introduced for Ryan Mason, giving a slightly more defensive and combative look to Yeovil's midfield, but still the Dons pressed. They got their reward that their pressure deserved on 66 minutes, although the equaliser when it came looked harsh - Terrell Forbes penalised for a foul on Aaron Wilbraham that looked from initial impressions to be a little bit of a soft decision. One for the Match of the Day coverage. Peter Leven who had crashed a header against the underside of the crossbar earlier in the second period, got the job of taking the spot kick, and as the instigator of the Dons' Armed Forces Day, it was probably appropriate that he got the reward, blasting his penalty past Alex McCarthy to level it out at 2-2.

At that stage, MK Dons could have gone on the rampage against a Yeovil side that looked to be clinging on a touch, but instead they took their foot off the gas a bit - and it was Yeovil who could have struck the winner, as a rare second half attack saw Sam Williams break behind the Dons back line and see his shot saved, and as the ball ran loose, Gavin Tomlin's shot was blocked by a defender. Right at the death, the Dons had a series of injury time corners to sneak a win themselves, but couldn't carve out the direct chances to deserve a fifth and final goal. In the end a draw was probably a fair result, with each side having dominated 45 minutes of the match, and at the start of the game, there wouldn't be too many people from Yeovil who wouldn't have taken a 2-2 draw away to a promotion-chasing side.

Link: 2009-10 League One Latest League Table.

Final Score: Milton Keynes Dons 2 Yeovil Town 2.

Scorers: Dean Bowditch (0-1, 1 min), Sam Baldock (1-1, 4 mins), Shaun MacDonald (1-2, 17 mins), Peter Leven (2-2, pen, 66 mins)

Milton Keynes Dons:
12. Willy Gueret
21. Luke Howell 23. Darren Powell 5. David McCracken 3. Dean Lewington
26. Luke Chadwick 22. Peter Leven 29. Nigel Quashie 16. Jason Puncheon
9. Aaron Wilbraham 11. Sam Baldock

7. Stephen Gleeson (89 mins for Nigel Quashie) 13. Mark Carrington 14. Lewis Gobern 17. Stuart Searle (GK) 24. Dean Morgan 28. Adam Chicksen 35. Martin Devaney (74 mins for Luke Chadwick)

Yeovil Town:
1. Alex McCarthy
2. Craig Alcock 5. Steven Caulker 6. Terrell Forbes 28. Nathan Smith
21. JP Kalala
25. Shaun MacDonald 13. Ryan Mason
10. Gavin Tomlin
14. Dean Bowditch 9. Sam Williams

4. Stefan Stam 7. George O'Callaghan (62 mins for Ryan Mason) 11. Andy Welsh 16. Scott Murray 15. Richard Martin (GK) 23. Danny Hutchins 26. Jonathan Obika (73 mins for Dean Bowditch)

MK Dons Bookings: David McCracken (22 mins, foul), Jason Puncheon (49 mins, foul), Peter Leven (67 mins, foul)

Yeovil Bookings: Terrell Forbes (56 mins, foul), Jean-Paul Kalala (79 mins, foul)

Referee: Paul Tierney (Lancashire). Assistants: Lee Collins (Surrey) and Marvin Thompson (Middlesex). Fourth Official: Gary Young (Bedfordshire).

Attendance: 8,965 (including 341 Yeovil fans).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape