Match Details: Yeovil Town v Huddersfield Town
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Huddersfield Town

Match Details: 02/02/2008
Yeovil Town 0-2 Huddersfield Town
Coca Cola League One

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Steve Mildenhall, 2. Mark Lynch, 4. Terry Skiverton, 6. Terrell Forbes, 9. Lloyd Owusu, 12. Matthew Rose, 16. Jaime Peters, 20. Marc Bircham, 24. Andy Kirk, 25. ZoltŠn Stieber, 27. Lee Peltier,
Subs: 5. Scott Guyett, 8. Anthony Barry, 10. Marcus Stewart, 14. Paul Warne, 32. Marvin Williams

Substitutes Used: Marcus Stewart for Lloyd Owusu (57 mins), Anthony Barry for Marc Bircham (63 mins), Marvin Williams for Jaime Peters (74 mins)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town continued their dismal run of results with a dire performance against Huddersfield at Huish Park this afternoon. Russell Sladeís side have failed to win in their last seven fixtures and picked up just 3 out of a possible 21 available points, having not yet won since the turn of the year.

It was a very uninspiring performance by Yeovil and no-one could argue that Huddersfield didn't deserve the three points. Huddersfield took the lead after just 25 minutes after Luke Beckett converted a penalty from the spot after a Terry Skiverton hand-ball inside the box. The Glovers players complained to referee Richard Beeby that the Yeovil skipper had been pushed prior to the foul, but that fell on deaf ears.

Earlier Lloyd Owusu had a great chance to score blocked by a Huddersfield defender, whilst Lee Peltier went the closest, having a shot cleared off the line, but the spot kick seemed to knock the stuffing out of Yeovil and the further they went through the half, the more their performance deteriorated.

Despite things clearly not working for the Glovers, Russell Slade decided against making the changes at half-time and chose instead to stick by his starting XI for the start of the second period. Huddersfield capitalised and stretched their lead, which sealed the match, just six minutes after the interval when Michael Collins scored from close range. Changes shortly followed but, by then, the task was beyond Yeovil Town, who now slip down to thirteenth in the League One table, just eight points clear of the drop.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 0 Huddersfield Town 2.

Scorers: Luke Beckett (0-1, pen, 25 mins), Michael Collins (0-2, 51 mins).

Yeovil Town: 4-4-2
1. Steve Mildenhall
27. Lee Peltier 4. Terry Skiverton 6. Terrell Forbes 2. Mark Lynch
16. Jaime Peters 12. Matty Rose 20. Marc Bircham 25. Zoltan Stieber
9. Lloyd Owusu 24. Andy Kirk

Subs: 5. Scott Guyett 8. Anthony Barry (63 mins for Marc Bircham) 10. Marcus Stewart (57 mins for Lloyd Owusu) 14. Paul Warne 32. Marvin Williams (74 mins for Jaime Peters)

Huddersfield Town:
27. Matthew Glennon
10. Robbie Williams 29. Robert Page 6. Nathan Clarke 13. Frank Sinclair
4. Michael Collins 2. Andy Holdsworth 8. Jonathan Worthington 11. Danny Schofield
14. Phil Jevons 18. Luke Beckett

Subs: 28. Alex Smithies (GK) 15. Malvin Kamara (77 mins for Phil Jevons) 5. David Mirfin 22. James Berrett 23. Andy Booth (86 mins for Luke Beckett)

Huddersfield Bookings: Robbie Williams (26 mins, foul), Andy Holdsworth (56 mins, foul)
Yeovil Bookings: None.

Referee: Richard Beeby (Northamptonshire). Assistants: Andrew Bennett (Devon) and Brendan Malone (Wiltshire). Fourth Official: RJ Martin.

Attendance: 4,823 (including approx 200 Huddersfield fans)
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape