Match Details: Yeovil Town v Luton Town
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Luton Town

Match Details: 02/10/2007
Yeovil Town 0-0 Luton Town
Coca Cola League One

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 3. Nathan Jones, 5. Scott Guyett, 6. Terrell Forbes, 8. Anthony Barry, 9. Lloyd Owusu, 10. Marcus Stewart, 12. Matthew Rose, 14. Paul Warne, 17. Simon Gillett, 27. Lee Peltier, 31. Romain Larrieu
Subs: 2. Mark Lynch, 16. Ritchie Jones, 18. Darryl Knights, 19. Craig Alcock, 30. Wilfried Domoraud,

Substitutes Used:

Match Report:

Yeovil Town extended their stuttering home run to four matches without a win as a 0-0 draw at Huish Park against Luton Town saw an improvement upon Saturday's result against Nottingham Forest, but did not give them the win in front of the home fans that the club so badly needed. The Glovers stay 7th in the League One table, but could do with bringing some of their excellent away form back to Huish Park before being at home becomes a psychological pressure.

The Glovers opened up tonight's match using a new formation - back to an orthodox 4-4-2 formation with Lee Peltier going to right-back, whilst the incoming Simon Gillett came in at right-wing - the only change in the names on the teamsheet, with the injured Terry Skiverton dropping out. Marcus Stewart moved up front whilst Paul Warne went wide in an effort to breathe new life into the Glovers side.

At first it seemed to work with a bright start from the home side. Anthony Barry should have shot at goal on a breakaway but instead chose to put the ball square towards Lloyd Owusu, and the move never really came off.

However, once the visitors got to grips with the Glovers, they began to swamp the Huish Park midfield with their own 4-5-1 line-up seeing their midfielders moving quickly to support lone striker Calvin Andrew. Thankfully most of their breaks up field ended without damage, with balls either flashing across Romain Larrieu's box or in the case of Luton's David Bell, more endangering the spectators behind the goal with his own wild shooting, including one that lifted clean above the top of the Westland Stand.

It took Yeovil 43 minutes to have a shot on goal of any description, with Marcus Stewart's shot being deflected out for a corner. In reality, the Glovers were probably fortunate that Luton's shooting was so woeful that Romain Larrieu was rarely troubled.

Although the Glovers were to dominate the second period, Luton managed their best chance just three minutes in, with Jaroslaw Fojut being denied from a corner as the Pole's downward header was cleared off the line. Straight up the other end and Anthony Barry's cross found Lloyd Owusu but his acrobatic attempt went wide of the target. Five minutes later a Nathan Jones cross from the opposite side also found Owusu and his header flew wide.

Anthony Barry, Marcus Stewart and Paul Warne all tried their luck, although frequently it was from distance. Lee Peltier was having an impressive game at right-back and he got in on the act as Luton spent the majority of the half on the back foot.

Richard Beeby has not been the best of the officials on the circuit throughout the years, and he caused fury amongst the Yeovil support and players in the final 10 minutes when he turned down huge appeals for a handball against Luton Town defender Jaroslaw Fojut, only to award a free kick to the visitors instead for another infringement. At the other end David Edwards spurned a rare chance for Luton when he fired well over the bar, but that was as good as it got for the Hatters, and they would have doubtless appreciated Mr Beeby's final whistle a little more than those in the home colours would have.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 0 Luton Town 0.

Yeovil Town: 4-4-2
31. Romain Larrieu
27. Lee Peltier 5. Scott Guyett 6. Terrell Forbes 3. Nathan Jones
17. Simon Gillett 12. Matty Rose 8. Anthony Barry 14. Paul Warne
9. Lloyd Owusu 10. Marcus Stewart

Substitutions: 2. Mark Lynch 16. Ritchie Jones 18. Darryl Knights 19. Craig Alcock 30. Wilfried Domoraud (none used)

Luton Town: 4-5-1
27. Ben Alnwick
5. Chris Perry 6. Chris Coyne 31. Jaroslaw Fojut 3. Alan Goodall
14. Steve Robinson 16. David Edwards 10. Darren Currie 25. Matthew Spring 8. David Bell
20. Calvin Andrew

Substitutes: 4. Don Hutchison 12. Richard Jackson 18. Ahmet Brkovic 19. Drew Talbot (46 mins for David Bell) 28. Paul McVeigh

Bookings: None.

Goals: None.

Attendance: 4,818.

Referee: Richard Beeby (Northamptonshire). Assistants: Simon Knapp (Gloucestershire) and Adrian Matthews. Fourth official: Guy Beale (Somerset).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape