Match Details: Hereford United v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Hereford United v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 14/08/2007
Hereford United 4-1 Yeovil Town
Carling Cup First Round

Yeovil Goals: Lloyd Owusu (50)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Steve Mildenhall, 2. Mark Lynch, 3. Nathan Jones, 5. Scott Guyett, 6. Terrell Forbes, 8. Anthony Barry, 9. Lloyd Owusu, 11. Lee Morris, 14. Paul Warne, 27. Lee Peltier, 32. Marvin Williams
Subs: 12. Matthew Rose, 15. Justin Cochrane, 18. Darryl Knights, 19. Craig Alcock, 21. Jerahl Hughes,

Substitutes Used: Justin Cochrane for Marvin Williams (46 mins), Craig Alcock for Mark Lynch (46 mins), Matthew Rose for Nathan Jones (46 mins)

Bookings: Lee Peltier (Foul, 55)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town were well and truly knocked out of the Carling Cup tonight by League Two side Hereford United. The damage was done by an astonishingly poor first half in which the defence failed to mark their men, the midfield failed to provide cover, and the forward line were isolated as Hereford knocked in four goals without reply.

The damage was done by right-winger Lionel Ainsworth, who knocked up a 41 minute hat-trick. His first came when he cut inside Nathan Jones high up the field, and was then allowed 20 yards worth of breathing space without anyone to close him down before he shot past Glovers keeper Steve Mildenhall. 1-0.

The home side were good value for that lead, with Theo Robinson having a shot forced onto the crossbar by Mildenhall, and they doubled their lead when Lionel Ainsworth accepted a 24th minute ball across the face of the box from Clint Easton, and like the first goal, the Glovers backed off and almost invited Ainsworth to shoot. He didn't disappoint the home fans. 2-0.

Ten minutes before the break, Clint Easton took advantage of a loose ball after Yeovil half-cleared their lines through Scott Guyett, and again there was a gap between defence and midfield as Easton got himself space and drove the ball home low and under Mildenhall's body. 3-0.

Just when things couldn't have got any worse, they did, and four minutes before the break, Lionel Ainsworth grabbed his hat-trick. The Glovers didn't seem to have learned their lesson from the earlier goals as they left Nathan Jones exposed on the flank, and when Ainsworth beat his man, you knew what was coming. 4-0.

Half time saw a triple substitution as Cochrane, Alcock and Rose replaced Jones, Lynch and Williams, with Yeovil switching to a 4-3-3 doubtless with manager Russell Slade having torn a few strips off his players at the break. Thankfully the second period was far more likely it and five minutes into the second period, Lloyd Owusu provided the only really positive note on the night, heading home an Anthony Barry cross.

Despite pulling a goal back, the game was effectively a write-off, and matters weren't helped by Lee Morris looking to have picked up an injury midway through the second period. He limped on, but Yeovil were pretty much playing the game out with 10.5 men on the field, with all substitutions being made during the break. Whilst the second half at least restored some pride, there is little doubt that there will be a reading of the riot act on the training ground when the players next arrive for training at Huish Park. This may be a brand new team, with four senior players missing through injury, but they will know they can do so much better than they did tonight.

Final Score: Hereford United 4 Yeovil Town 1.

Goals: Lionel Ainsworth (1-0, 8 mins), Lionel Ainsworth (2-0, 24 mins), Clint Easton (3-0, 35 mins), Lionel Ainsworth (4-0, 41 mins), Lloyd Owusu (4-1, 50 mins).

Yeovil Town:
1. Steve Mildenhall
2. Mark Lynch, 5. Scott Guyett, 6. Terrell Forbes, 3. Nathan Jones
32. Marvin Williams, 8. Anthony Barry, 27. Lee Peltier, 14. Paul Warne
9. Lloyd Owusu, 11. Lee Morris

19. Craig Alcock (46 mins) for Mark Lynch
15. Justin Cochrane (46 mins) for Marvin Williams
12. Matty Rose (46 mins) for Nathan Jones
not used: 18. Darryl Knights, 21. Jerahl Hughes.

Hereford United:
1. Wayne Brown
2. Trent McClenahan 28. Dean Beckwith 6. Karl Broadhurst 4. Richard Rose
7. Lionel Ainsworth 8. Ben Smith 20. Toumani Diagouraga 11. Clint Easton
22. Theo Robinson 12. Trevor Benjamin

30. Karl Lewis (GK)
5. John McCombe
9. Stephen Guinan (81 mins for Trevor Benjamin)
10. Kris Taylor (76 mins for Tournani Diagouraga)
23. Simon Johnson (85 mins for Lionel Ainsworth)

Attendance: 2085 (including 217 Glovers)

Referee: Michael Jones (Cheshire).
Assistants: Simon Hooper (Wilts) and William Smallwood (Cheshire).
Fourth official: James Cox (Worcs).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape